Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Chile

Central Valley – Maipo

Viñedo Chadwick 2019

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

99 100

WINE SPECTATOR

99 100

JAMES SUCKLING

98 100

DECANTER

19 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

The estate

Viñedo Chadwick has its own very particular history. In 1942, Don Alfonso purchased the 300 hectares Vina San José de Tocornal estate and its vineyards in the Maipo Valley's Puente Alto appellation, long considered Chile's best land for Cabernet Sauvignon. It was on this site that he built his home and polo field, where he practised his beloved sport daily, becoming one of the best polo players in the history of Chile. The property was later sub-divided and only 25 hectares were left in the family bands. Eduardo Chadwick, foreseeing the potential of chis unique terroir, convinced his father to convert his much-loved polo field into a vineyard. This led to the creation of Viñedo Chadwick in 1992 when 15 hectares were planted with Cabernet Sauvignon vines on Alfonso's former polo ground. Don Alfonso passed away in 1993 and never saw the finished wine.

"The Paris Tasting destroyed the myth of French supremacy and marked the democratization of the wine world. It was a watershed in the history of wine." Robert Parker

The vineyard

The unique terroir in the Viñedo Chadwick vineyard is composed of ancient terraces of gravel alluvial soils that once supported Alfonso Chadwick's beloved polo field. Puente Alto DO. is considered the cradle of premium Cabernet Sauvignon in Chile, the country's best terroir for producing Cabernet Sauvignon of exceptional finesse and quality. Viñedo Chadwick is located 650m above sea level at Puente Alto in the Maipo Valley, in the southeastern sector of Santiago at the foot of the Andes Mountains, along the northern bank of the Maipo River. The vineyard is located on an old alluvial terrace. Two main types of substrata have been identified over the whole estate, both from fluvial origin: predominantly well-rounded gravel and pebbles in a fine-grained matrix, transported over a great distance (several kilometres) from the Andes by the Maipo River, and locally fine-grained alluvium deposits that accumulated at the top of fluvial bars with less important steam flows than in the main channels. The Mediterranean climate has a long, dry season, and rainfall is concentrated in the winter, while the high-temperature oscillation between day and night is one of the main factors responsible for the intense colour of die wines. The elevation ensures that nights are cool and the crisp morning breezes blowing down from the Andes Mountains moderate daytime temperatures and allow the grapes to ripen to perfection while preserving their fruit intensity and acidity.The cool morning breezes blowing down from the Andes Mountains moderate daytime temperatures and allow the grapes to ripen to perfection while preserving their fruit intensity and acidity.

"One enterprising Chilean wine producer, Eduardo Chadwick of Viña Errázuris, has managed to organize a similar evolutionary milestone for the Chilean wine industry or at least of his own wines... at what will doubtless come to be known in the History of Chilean wine as the "Berlin Tasting"" Jancis Robinson

The Vintage

This moderately warm season delivered an exceptional wine. It combines great length, complexity, freshness and purity, benefitting from a cooler March. This allowed a long, gentle maturation of the grapes and they were harvested in perfect conditions. Finesse and elegance are the hallmarks of Viñedo Chadwick 2019 vintage.

Information

  • Domain Viñedo Chadwick
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2019
  • Variety 97% Cabernet Sauvignon
    3% Petit Verdot
  • Alcohol degrees13°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The 2019 vintage of Viñedo Chadwick displays a beautiful and attractive ruby red colour with a violet shimmer. Complex on the nose, it has aromas of cherry and raspberries, all framed by delicate notes of sweet spices like cloves and nutmeg, plus some pastries, black fruits and a floral touch. The palate presents cherries, raspberry pie and sweet spices, full of subtleties in delicate layers alongside polished tannins with great length and persistence. This is an exceptional vintage of Viñedo Chadwick with extreme elegance and finesse, freshness and a superb ageing potential.

Temperature

16°

Drinking window

2028-2053

Wine and food pairing

Age meet, traditional deaches with strong sauce, Traditional lang cooked with a barbecue

Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Viñedo Chadwick 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Chili

Central Valley – Maipo

Viñedo Chadwick 2019

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

99 100

WINE SPECTATOR

99 100

JAMES SUCKLING

98 100

DECANTER

19 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

La propriété

Viñedo Chadwick a une histoire très particulière. En 1942, Don Alfonso a acheté les 300 hectares du domaine Vina San José de Tocornal et ses vignobles dans l'appellation Puente Alto de la vallée de Maipo, longtemps considérée comme la meilleure terre du Chili pour le cabernet sauvignon. C'est sur ce site qu'il a construit sa maison et son terrain de polo, où il pratiquait quotidiennement son sport favori, devenant l'un des meilleurs joueurs de polo de l'histoire du Chili. La propriété a ensuite été subdivisée et seuls 25 hectares sont restés dans les bandes familiales. Eduardo Chadwick, entrevoyant le potentiel de ce terroir unique, a convaincu son père de convertir son terrain de polo tant apprécié en vignoble. C'est ainsi qu'est né le Viñedo Chadwick en 1992, lorsque 15 hectares ont été plantés de vignes de cabernet sauvignon sur l'ancien terrain de polo d'Alfonso. Don Alfonso est décédé en 1993 et n'a jamais vu le vin fini.

"La dégustation de Paris a détruit le mythe de la suprématie française et a marqué la démocratisation du monde du vin. C'est un tournant dans l'histoire du vin". Robert Parker

Le vignoble

Le terroir unique du vignoble Viñedo Chadwick est composé d'anciennes terrasses de sols alluviaux graveleux qui abritaient autrefois le terrain de polo bien-aimé d'Alfonso Chadwick. Puente Alto DO. est considéré comme le berceau du cabernet sauvignon haut de gamme au Chili, le meilleur terroir du pays pour la production de cabernet sauvignon d'une finesse et d'une qualité exceptionnelles. Le Viñedo Chadwick est situé à 650 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer à Puente Alto, dans la vallée de Maipo, dans le secteur sud-est de Santiago, au pied de la cordillère des Andes, le long de la rive nord du fleuve Maipo. Le vignoble est situé sur une ancienne terrasse alluviale. Deux types principaux de substrats ont été identifiés sur l'ensemble du domaine, tous deux d'origine fluviale : des graviers et des galets bien arrondis dans une matrice à grains fins, transportés sur une grande distance (plusieurs kilomètres) depuis les Andes par le fleuve Maipo, et des dépôts d'alluvions à grains localement fins qui se sont accumulés au sommet de barres fluviales avec des flux de vapeur moins importants que dans les chenaux principaux. Le climat méditerranéen se caractérise par une saison longue et sèche, et les précipitations se concentrent en hiver, tandis que l'oscillation des températures entre le jour et la nuit est l'un des principaux facteurs à l'origine de la couleur intense des vins de la région. L'altitude garantit la fraîcheur des nuits et les brises matinales fraîches qui descendent de la cordillère des Andes modèrent les températures diurnes et permettent aux raisins de mûrir parfaitement tout en préservant l'intensité et l'acidité de leur fruit.Les brises matinales fraîches qui descendent de la cordillère des Andes modèrent les températures diurnes et permettent aux raisins de mûrir parfaitement tout en préservant l'intensité et l'acidité de leur fruit.

"Un producteur de vin chilien entreprenant, Eduardo Chadwick de Viña Errázuris, a réussi à organiser une étape similaire de l'évolution de l'industrie du vin chilien ou du moins de ses propres vins... lors de ce qui sera sans doute connu dans l'histoire du vin chilien comme la "Dégustation de Berlin". Jancis Robinson

Le Millésime

Cette saison modérément chaude a donné un vin exceptionnel. Il allie longueur, complexité, fraîcheur et pureté, bénéficiant d'un mois de mars plus frais. Cela a permis une maturation longue et douce des raisins et ils ont été récoltés dans des conditions parfaites. Finesse et élégance caractérisent le millésime 2019 du Viñedo Chadwick.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Viñedo Chadwick
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2019
  • Cépage 97% Cabernet Sauvignon
    3% Petit Verdot
  • Degrés d'alcool13°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Le millésime 2019 du Viñedo Chadwick affiche une belle et séduisante robe rouge rubis aux reflets violets. Complexe au nez, il présente des arômes de cerise et de framboise, le tout encadré par de délicates notes d'épices douces comme le clou de girofle et la noix de muscade, plus quelques pâtisseries, des fruits noirs et une touche florale. La bouche présente des arômes de cerise, de tarte aux framboises et d'épices douces, pleins de subtilités en couches délicates, avec des tanins polis d'une grande longueur et d'une grande persistance. Il s'agit d'un millésime exceptionnel du Viñedo Chadwick, d'une extrême élégance et finesse, d'une grande fraîcheur et d'un superbe potentiel de vieillissement.

Service

16°

À déguster

2028-2053

Accords mets et vins

Viande maturées, Plats en sauces, agneau confit, viandes cuites au barbecue