Petrolo Galatrona 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Petrolo Galatrona 2018 The Wine Gate Shop

Toscana – Val d'Arno di Sopra

Petrolo Galatrona 2018

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

97 100

WINE ADVOCATE

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

The estate

Petrolo is placed in Val d’ Arno di Sopra on the southeast side of the Chianti mountains bordering Chianti Classico. Val d’Arno di Sopra is a historical area recognized and delimited in 1716 by the Grand Duke of Tuscany Cosimo III de’ Medici as a particularly valuable land for wine and olive oil toghether with Chianti, Carmignano and Pomino (today Rufina). Finally in 2011 the area was recognized the status of DOC Valdarno di Sopra. Petrolo was bought by the Bazzocchi family in the 40s. During the 80s Lucia Bazzocchi Sanjust, realized the great potential of the soil on the hill of Petrolo and with the help of her son Luca, begun renovating the company’s production line aiming to obtain results of the highest quality. From 2016 all Petrolo wines have official EU Organic Certification.

The vineyard

Because all the love and respect we dedicate to farming our piece of land here in Petrolo is returned in the beauty of the wines that nature bestows on us. Because with about 150.000 plants in production, in most part Sangiovese then Merlot and a little portion of Cabernet Sauvignon, we produce just over 90.000 bottles (Torrione 50.000, Galatrona 30.000, Bòggina 12.000). Because of the constant work in the vineyards, the meticulous care in the cellar together with extremely delicate and natural processing of the grapes, without the use of selected yeasts or enzymes, and because of the support given by extremely good weather and soil conditions, we are able to get very close to our “ideal” wine year after year, both with the Sangiovese and the Merlot - obviously with different results and different characteristics each vintage, depending on the changeable conditions. Besides the grape varieties it is made of, our wine has to talk of the piece of land it came from. It has to be a classic in its own small way, beyond being mainly good, it must hold the stories of the people who have made it, thought it and who have lived and worked for generations on that piece of land. Because wine is a very long-term project, where results are often seen only after generations. The wines produced at Petrolo have their roots in my grandfather’s period (in the 40’s/70’s) and my mother’s (80’s/90’s). But we can also refer to the modern age: in the “Tuscan agricultural Journal” (Giornale Agrario Toscano) Giorgio Perrin, Swiss agronomist of early ‘800, honorary member of the “Accademia dei Georgofili” of Florence and owner of Petrolo at the time, speaks of the quality of Sangiovese in Petrolo especially of the vineyard in “località Poggio Asciutto”, now Bòggina. Moreover he explains how at the time it was normal customs, in this part of Tuscany, the Chianti, to plant “uve franzose” (French grapes) to be added to Sangiovese because these grapes would not alter the quality of our wines as the character of the territory prevails over the different grape varietals. All this written on a text of 1837 that can still be read today.

The Vintage

Galatrona is the “Grand Cru” of Merlot of Petrolo, only made with the grapes from the vineyard of the same name planted between the end of the 80’s and half of the 90’s with low vigor bordeaux clones. The peculiar soil, rich in clay in combination with schist, marl and sandstones, allows the concentration of all the noble components of the grapes, fundamental for the great structure, elegance, balance and persistence wanted for this wine.

Galatrona 2018 

Among the best vintages ever with extraordinary results for quality and quantity. The winter cold and rain showers
came late. Spring was very pleasant and sunny with temperatures slightly above average. The summer maintained warm temperatures without excess and limited rainfall. These conditions supported a balanced growth and perfect ripening.

Information

  • Domain Petrolo
  • Vineyard Galatrona
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2018
  • Variety 100% Merlot
  • Culture organic
  • Alcohol degrees14.5°
Download the datasheet

Petrolo Galatrona 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Petrolo Galatrona 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Italie

Toscane – Val d'Arno di Sopra

Petrolo Galatrona 2018

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

97 100

WINE ADVOCATE

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

La propriété

Petrolo est situé dans le Val d'Arno di Sopra, sur le versant sud-est des montagnes du Chianti, à la limite du Chianti Classico. Le Val d'Arno di Sopra est une zone historique reconnue et délimitée en 1716 par le grand-duc de Toscane Cosimo III de Médicis comme une terre particulièrement précieuse pour le vin et l'huile d'olive, avec le Chianti, Carmignano et Pomino (aujourd'hui Rufina). Enfin, en 2011, la zone a été reconnue comme DOC Valdarno di Sopra. Petrolo a été acheté par la famille Bazzocchi dans les années 40. Dans les années 80, Lucia Bazzocchi Sanjust a réalisé le grand potentiel du sol de la colline de Petrolo et, avec l'aide de son fils Luca, a commencé à rénover la ligne de production de l'entreprise dans le but d'obtenir des résultats de la plus haute qualité. Depuis 2016, tous les vins Petrolo sont officiellement certifiés biologiques par l'Union européenne.

Le vignoble

Parce que tout l'amour et le respect que nous consacrons à la culture de notre parcelle de terre ici à Petrolo nous sont rendus par la beauté des vins que la nature nous offre. Parce qu'avec environ 150 000 plants en production, en majorité du Sangiovese puis du Merlot et une petite partie de Cabernet Sauvignon, nous produisons un peu plus de 90 000 bouteilles (Torrione 50 000, Galatrona 30 000, Bòggina 12 000). Grâce au travail constant dans les vignobles, aux soins méticuleux dans la cave et au traitement extrêmement délicat et naturel des raisins, sans utilisation de levures sélectionnées ou d'enzymes, et grâce aux conditions climatiques et pédologiques extrêmement favorables, nous sommes en mesure de nous rapprocher de notre vin "idéal" année après année, tant avec le Sangiovese qu'avec le Merlot - évidemment avec des résultats et des caractéristiques différents à chaque millésime, en fonction des conditions changeantes. Outre les cépages qui le composent, notre vin doit parler de la parcelle de terre dont il est issu. Il doit être un classique à sa manière, au-delà de sa qualité principale, il doit contenir les histoires des personnes qui l'ont élaboré, pensé et qui ont vécu et travaillé pendant des générations sur cette parcelle de terre. En effet, le vin est un projet à très long terme, dont les résultats ne sont souvent visibles qu'après plusieurs générations. Les vins produits à Petrolo ont leurs racines dans la période de mon grand-père (années 40/70) et de ma mère (années 80/90). Mais nous pouvons aussi nous référer à l'époque moderne : dans le "Giornale Agrario Toscano", Giorgio Perrin, agronome suisse du début des années 800, membre honoraire de l'"Accademia dei Georgofili" de Florence et propriétaire de Petrolo à l'époque, parle de la qualité du Sangiovese à Petrolo, en particulier du vignoble de la "località Poggio Asciutto", aujourd'hui Bòggina. Il explique en outre qu'à l'époque, dans cette partie de la Toscane, le Chianti, il était d'usage de planter des "uve franzose" (raisins français) à ajouter au Sangiovese, car ces raisins n'altéreraient pas la qualité de nos vins, le caractère du territoire l'emportant sur les différents cépages. Tout cela est écrit dans un texte de 1837 que l'on peut encore lire aujourd'hui.

Le Millésime

Galatrona est le grand cru de Merlot de Petrolo, produit uniquement avec les raisins du vignoble du même nom planté entre la fin des années 80 et la moitié des années 90. Le sol particulier, riche en argile en combinaison avec des schistes, des marnes et des grès, permet la concentration de tous les composants nobles des raisins, fondamentaux pour la structure, l'élégance et l'équilibre recherchés pour ce vin.

Galatrona 2018

Parmi les meilleurs millésimes de tous les temps, avec des résultats extraordinaires en termes de qualité et de quantité. Le froid hivernal et les averses de pluie
sont arrivées tardivement. Le printemps a été très agréable et ensoleillé avec des températures légèrement supérieures à la moyenne. L'été a maintenu des températures chaudes sans excès et avec des précipitations limitées. Ces conditions ont favorisé une croissance équilibrée et une une maturation parfaite.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Petrolo
  • Vignoble Galatrona
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2018
  • Cépage 100% Merlot
  • Culture bio
  • Degrés d'alcool14.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète