Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020 The Wine Gate Shop
Ornellaia  Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020 The Wine Gate Shop
Italy

Toscana – Toscana

Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

92 100

DECANTER

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

90 100

WINE ADVOCATE

The estate

The Ornellaia story is one of vision and determination. Founded in 1981, Ornellaia Estate immediately embarked on a quest for excellence.

The Ornellaia estate has always been an expression of the close bond between man and nature. From the launch of Ornellaia in 1985 to the beautiful vineyards of Bellaria, from the beginnings of the very first second wine produced in Italy, Le Serre Nuove dell'Ornellaia, to the Vendemmia d'Artista project, to the creation of Ornellaia Bianco, the history of Ornellaia is intense, yet also a source of pride and inspiration.

There are many men and women who have defined the history of Ornellaia, owned by the Frescobaldi family. Some are no longer with us, while many others are essential to its current incarnation and are already contributing to its future. Marchese Ferdinando Frescobaldi is the President of Ornellaia along with Giovanni Geddes da Filicaja, CEO since 1999.

The vineyard

As winegrowers for 700 years, the Frescobaldi family combines its creative spirit and quest for excellence with respect for tradition. Cultivating and celebrating local diversity has always been their philosophy, respecting the identity and independence of each winery. Continuity, curiosity and controlled evolution have guided the Frescobaldi family for generations. At Ornellaia, this approach has created an international team that is part of the extended family. With an eye to the to the Mediterranean and Ornellaia's identity deeply rooted in it, Poggio alle Gazze dell'Ornellaia reveals a refreshing spirit, delicate as a breeze, yet sumptuous and confident. Each vine that sinks its roots into the deep soil, where the sea once was, has its own voice. Understanding and directing the singular harmony of this choir is a responsibility and an honor for Ornellaia. The combination of soil, sun, sea, wind and the history of this land defines each of our wines.

The Vintage

Volte dell' Ornellaia combines Mediterranean generosity with a full-bodied structure and complexity, expressing the Ornellaia philosophy. Volte dell' Ornellaia is a fine wine for spontaneous wine lovers, to be enjoyed without ceremony.



CLIMATIC CONDITIONS IN 2020

After a mild and rainy winter, there was a temporary drop in temperature in March with a few nights below 0° C at the very beginning of budding in the last week of the month. Fortunately, the newly opened shoots were still protected by the cottony tissue of the bud and were not damaged by the frost.

The vineyard experienced generally warm weather for the remainder of the spring, with normal rainfall allowing steady vegetative growth until flowering, which occurred on average between 20 and 25 May. There was a period of intense rainfall in mid-June, followed by a very long dry period with a notable absence of rain and scorching temperatures until the end of August. The veraison was uniform and rapid between 20 and 25 July, with the berries beginning to ripen under a blazing sun. The expected rains arrived at the end of August and led to a significant drop in temperature, with night-time lows of 13°C: ideal conditions for the Merlots to complete their ripening.

Harvesting of these same Merlots took place early and was completed quickly - in just two weeks - to preserve maximum freshness and fruit character, just in time to avoid a sudden week-long heat wave during which temperatures reached up to 37° C, forcing to start harvesting the later vines as early as 17 September.

Some rain at the end of the month finally brought the weather conditions back to normal, allowinging to finish harvesting on October 3rd.

Information

  • Domain Ornellaia
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2020
  • Variety 100% Merlot
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

"With its ruby red colour and violet highlights, Volte dell' Ornellaia 2020 offers a vinous bouquet, releasing complex aromas ranging from ripe red fruit to Mediterranean scrub, enhanced by delicate notes of tobacco and spice.On the palate, the wine is velvety and silky, but underpinned by lively acidity offering a lively and persistent finish."

Olga Fusari –Enologist- December 2021

Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020 The Wine Gate Shop
Ornellaia  Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020 The Wine Gate Shop
Italie

Toscane – Toscana

Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2020

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

92 100

DECANTER

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

90 100

WINE ADVOCATE

La propriété

L’histoire d’Ornellaia est un récit de vision et de détermination. Créé en 1981, le domaine d’Ornellaia s'est immédiatement élancé dans une quête de l'excellence.

Le domaine d’Ornellaia a toujours été une expression du lien étroit entre l’homme et la nature. Du lancement d’Ornellaia en 1985 aux magnifiques vignobles de Bellaria, des débuts du tout premier second vin produit en Italie, Le Serre Nuove dell’Ornellaia, au projet Vendemmia d’Artista ou encore avec la création d’Ornellaia Bianco, l’histoire d’Ornellaia est intense, tout en étant source de fierté et d'inspiration.

Nombreux sont les hommes et femmes qui ont défini l’histoire d’Ornellaia, propriété de la famille Frescobaldi. Certains ne sont plus avec nous, alors que de nombreux autres sont essentiels à son incarnation actuelle et contribuent déjà à son avenir. Marchese Ferdinando Frescobaldi est le Président d’Ornellaia aux côtés de Giovanni Geddes da Filicaja, PDG depuis 1999.

Le vignoble

Viticulteurs depuis 700 ans, la famille Frescobaldi associe son état d'esprit créatif et sa recherche de l'excellence au respect de la tradition. Cultiver et célébrer la diversité locale a toujours été sa philosophie, en respectant l'identité et l'indépendance de chaque domaine viticole. Continuité, curiosité et une évolution maitrisée guident la famille Frescobaldi depuis des générations. Chez Ornellaia, cette démarche a permis de créer une équipe internationale qui fait partie de la famille élargie. Avec le regard tourné vers la Méditerranée et l’identité d’Ornellaia profondément ancrée en lui, Poggio alle Gazze dell’Ornellaia révèle un esprit rafraîchissant, délicat comme la brise, tout en restant somptueux et confiant. Chaque pied de vigne qui plonge ses racines dans le sol profond, où il y avait autrefois la mer, a sa propre voix. Comprendre et diriger l'harmonie singulière de ce chœur est une responsabilité et un honneur pour Ornellaia. L’association du sol, du soleil, de la mer, du vent et de l'histoire de cette terre définit chacun de nos vins. 

Le Millésime

Le Volte dell’ Ornellaia associe une générosité méditerranéenne à une structure charpentée et une belle complexité, exprimant la philosophie d’Ornellaia. Le Volte dell’ Ornellaia est un vin fin s’adressant aux amateurs de vins spontanés, à déguster sans cérémonie.


CONDITIONS CLIMATIQUES EN 2020


Après un hiver doux et pluvieux, il y a eu une baisse provisoire des températures en mars avec quelques nuits en dessous de 0° C au tout début du bourgeonnement intervenu au cours de la dernière semaine du mois. Heureusement, les pousses nouvellement ouvertes étaient encore protégées par le tissu cotonneux du bourgeon et n'ont pas été endommagées par le gel.

Le vignoble a connu un temps généralement chaud pendant le reste du printemps, avec des précipitations normales qui ont permis une croissance végétative régulière jusqu'à la floraison, intervenue en moyenne entre le 20 et le 25 mai. Il y a eu une période de pluies intenses à la mi-juin, suivie d'une très longue période sèche avec une absence notable de pluie et des températures caniculaires jusqu'à la fin aot. La véraison a été homogène et rapide entre le 20 et le 25 juillet, avec un début de maturation des baies sous un soleil de plomb. Les pluies attendues sont arrivées fin aot et ont entraîné une baisse notable des températures, avec des minima nocturnes à 13° C: conditions idéales pour que les Merlots achèvent leur maturation.

Les vendanges de ces mêmes Merlots ont eu lieu tôt et ont été achevées rapidement - en deux semaines seulement - pour préserver au maximum la fraîcheur et le caractère fruité, juste à temps pour éviter une vague de chaleur soudaine d'une semaine au cours de laquelle les températures ont atteint jusqu'à 37 ° C, contraignant à commencer les vendanges des vignes les plus tardives dès le 17 septembre.

Quelques pluies à la fin du mois ont finalement ramené les conditions climatiques à la normale, ce qui a permis de terminer les vendanges le 3 octobre.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Ornellaia
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2020
  • Cépage 100% Merlot
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

« Avec sa robe rouge rubis et ses reflets violets, Le Volte dell’ Ornellaia 2020 offre un bouquet vineux, libérant des arômes complexes allant de fruits rouges bien mûrs au maquis méditerranéen, agrémentés de délicates notes de tabac et d'épices. En bouche, le vin est velouté et soyeux, mais soutenu par une acidité vive offrant une finale vive et persistante. »

Olga Fusari –Œnologue - Décembre 2021