Bodega Numanthia Termes 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Spain

Castille-León – Toro

Bodega Numanthia Termes 2019

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

93 100

ROBERT PARKER

The estate

Located in Valdefinjas, Castile and Leon, in the Northwest of Madrid, this wine Estate is a Spanish diamond. Firmly rooted into Spanish history and terroir, it is the birthplace of powerful and intense wines, the incarnation of the prestigious Designation of Origin Toro. Founded in 1998, Bodega Numanthia, located in Valdefinjas, Castile and León, in the Northwest of Spain, is a veritable emblem of the Toro region wines. Bodega Numanthia is living tribute to the fearless warriors of Numancia in Spain, whose inhabitants heroically resisted the Roman army for 20 years in 134 B.C. and finally preferred to sacrifice their lives rather than surrender. This resilience is also found in the Toro wines in a region with longstanding traditions in winemaking and viticulture. These vineyards were planted by pioneer families centuries ago, back in roman times and since then, they have shown resilience surviving the phylloxera plague during the XIXth century and the extreme climate conditions typical of the region year after year. During the Middle ages, Toro wines were also the first in the world to travel to the Americas, carried on Christopher Columbus’ ships in 1492. All shaped in bush vines and ungrafted, some of the vines are reaching up to 200 years old and are spread all around the Denomination of Origin Toro in distinctive terroirs. Bodega Numanthia was the first estate to understand the potential of the Toro region and to reveal an outstanding Spanish terroir to the world, bringing the most beautiful expression of the timeless Tinta de Toro grape variety.

The vineyard

The wines, growing in a sandy and rocky soil, are a living symbol of resilience. They have been able to resist to time despite no irrigation being used, having to develop their roots up to 5 meters to reach the much-needed water. The vineyards are a patchwork of over one hundred tiny plots, ensuring complexity and richness. The vines are very old, some dating back to 200 years. All of the work in the vineyards are entirely manual in order to maintain the balance of the vines and the quality of the grapes. Our vines are dry-farmed and are managed organically and no pesticides are used. Bodega Numanthia’s vineyard is composed of 200 hectares (494 acres) of vines in the communes of Toro, Morales de Toro, Valdefinjas, Venialbo, El Pego and Argujillo. They manage a patchwork of 200 parcels across the Toro D.O., located on either side of the Duero River. The diversity of these scattered vineyards ensures a wide range of terroir expressions. Bodega Numanthia is the ONLY winery in Toro that represents so fully the D.O. Toro, being rich from its 8 terroirs types, embodying the full diversity of the denomination.Each terroir has its own characteristics - soil, altitude, microclimate - and provide a distinctive expression of Tinta de Toro. Parcels are vinified separately before being carefully blended by the winemaking team. The result is a wine with a unique balance of elegance and power.

The Vintage

This complex and subtle wine comes from the Spanish region of Toro. Notes of black fruit and spice blend with soft tannins and acidity.

After aging in French oak barrels for 14 months and then in bottle, this wine will subtly mature over the next five or more years.

Information

  • Domain Numanthia
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2019
  • Variety 100% Tinta de Toro
  • Alcohol degrees15°

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The color of this wine is a ripe cherry red with ruby highlights, clear and bright.The nose is intense and reveals notes of black fruits, sweet spices such as cinnamon, as well as a fresh touch of thyme and eucalyptus. These aromas are enriched by notes of scrubbing that bring complexity to this wine. On the palate, this wine is characterized by soft, fresh tannins and well-balanced acidity, which give it great length and an expressive, fresh and elegant expression. The finish is long and persistent, revealing sophisticated notes of pure cocoa and caramel that enrich the whole tasting.

Temperature

15°

Wine and food pairing

Spanish ham plancha or beef carpaccio

Bodega Numanthia Termes 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Espagne

Castille-León – Toro

Bodega Numanthia Termes 2019

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

93 100

ROBERT PARKER

La propriété

Situé à Valdefinjas, en Castille et Léon, au nord-ouest de Madrid, ce domaine viticole est un diamant espagnol. Solidement ancré dans l'histoire et le terroir espagnols, ils sont le berceau de vins puissants et intenses, incarnation de la prestigieuse Appellation d'Origine Toro. Fondée en 1998, la Bodega Numanthia, située à Valdefinjas, en Castille et Léon, au nord-ouest de l'Espagne, est un véritable emblème des vins de la région de Toro. La Bodega Numanthia rend hommage aux guerriers intrépides de Numancia en Espagne, dont les habitants ont héroïquement résisté à l'armée romaine pendant 20 ans en 134 avant J.-C. et ont finalement préféré sacrifier leur vie plutôt que de se rendre. Cette résilience se retrouve également dans les vins de Toro, dans une région où les traditions viticoles et vinicoles sont très anciennes. Ces vignobles ont été plantés par des familles de pionniers il y a plusieurs siècles, à l'époque romaine, et depuis lors, ils ont fait preuve de résilience en survivant à l'épidémie de phylloxéra au XIXe siècle et aux conditions climatiques extrêmes typiques de la région, année après année. Au Moyen Âge, les vins de Toro ont également été les premiers au monde à voyager vers les Amériques, transportés sur les navires de Christophe Colomb en 1492. Toutes façonnées en buisson et non greffées, certaines des vignes atteignent 200 ans et sont réparties tout autour de l'appellation d'origine Toro dans des terroirs distincts. La Bodega Numanthia a été le premier domaine à comprendre le potentiel de la région de Toro et à révéler au monde un terroir espagnol exceptionnel, en apportant la plus belle expression du cépage intemporel Tinta de Toro.

Le vignoble

Les vins, qui poussent sur un sol sablonneux et rocailleux, sont un symbole vivant de résilience. Elles ont été capables de résister au temps malgré l'absence d'irrigation, devant développer leurs racines jusqu'à 5 mètres pour atteindre l'eau dont elles ont tant besoin. Les vignobles sont un patchwork de plus d'une centaine de petites parcelles, ce qui assure leur complexité et leur richesse. Les vignes sont très anciennes, certaines datant de 200 ans. Tous les travaux de la vigne sont entièrement manuels afin de préserver l'équilibre des vignes et la qualité des raisins. Nos vignes sont cultivées en sec et sont gérées de manière biologique, sans aucun pesticide. Le vignoble de la Bodega Numanthia est composé de 200 hectares de vignes dans les communes de Toro, Morales de Toro, Valdefinjas, Venialbo, El Pego et Argujillo. Ils gèrent une mosaïque de 200 parcelles dans l'appellation d'origine Toro, situées de part et d'autre de la rivière Duero. La diversité de ces vignobles éparpillés garantit un large éventail d'expressions du terroir. La Bodega Numanthia est la SEULE cave de Toro à représenter aussi pleinement la D.O. Toro, riche de ses 8 types de terroirs, incarnant toute la diversité de la dénomination. Chaque terroir a ses propres caractéristiques - sol, altitude, microclimat - et fournit une expression distinctive du Tinta de Toro. Les parcelles sont vinifiées séparément avant d'être soigneusement assemblées par l'équipe de vinification. Le résultat est un vin qui présente un équilibre unique entre élégance et puissance.

Le Millésime

Ce vin complexe et subtil provient de la région espagnole de Toro. Les notes de fruits noirs et d’épices se marient avec les tanins doux et l’acidité.

Après avoir vieilli en fûts de chêne français pendant 14 mois, puis en bouteille, ce vin s’affinera subtilement au cours des cinq prochaines années ou plus.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Numanthia
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2019
  • Cépage 100% Tinta de Toro
  • Degrés d'alcool15°

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

La robe de ce vin est d'un rouge cerise mûr avec des reflets rubis, claire et brillante.

Le nez est intense et révèle des notes de fruits noirs, d'épices douces comme la cannelle, ainsi qu'une touche fraîche de thym et d'eucalyptus. Ces arômes sont enrichis par des notes de gommage qui apportent de la complexité à ce vin.

En bouche, ce vin se caractérise par des tanins souples et frais, ainsi qu'une acidité bien équilibrée, qui lui confèrent une grande longueur et une expression expressive, fraîche et élégante.

La finale est longue et persistante, révélant des notes sophistiquées de cacao pur et de caramel qui viennent enrichir l'ensemble de cette dégustation.

Service

15°

Accords mets et vins

Plancha de jambon espagnol ou carpaccio de bœuf