M. Chapoutier Chante-Alouette Hermitage 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Rhône – Hermitage

M. Chapoutier Chante-Alouette Hermitage 2019

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

94 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

DECANTER

The estate

Everything starts with Michel Chapoutier and his singular, out-of-the-box, all-embracing, inquisitive thinking. Michel’s is not a static spirit, but a living one. His quest is one of discovery and revelation of high-potential terroirs, how soils can express themselves, how each one can give that singular taste to each wine. A quest that is driven by daring: opening up to other horizons, other terroirs, whilst remaining a specialist of Rhone Valley grapes, the company’s true DNA. Creating encounters between tradition and modernity, dreaming up new forms of know-how, but always with the greatest possible respect… for the soil. M. CHAPOUTIER’s teams work to perpetuate the revelation of terroir such is their starting point.

Humility is at the heart of the M. CHAPOUTIER soul. Nature always has the final say. The winemaker observes, decides and guides nature in the most respectful way possible. ‘Fac et spera’ (do and hope), has become the family currency.

‘Fac et spera’ (do and hope) - family motto

The vineyard

Located in Tain L'Hermitage, in the Rhone Valley, for more than 210 years, M. CHAPOUTIER has been producing the greatest wines in the respect of the natural balance and of the soils which give birth to them. It took a new turn in 1990 with the arrival of Michel Chapoutier who introduced biodynamic farming on his estates. A pioneer in this field, M. CHAPOUTIER has made it the founding principle of its philosophy.

The company has always attached great importance to respect, starting with that of the Earth. A land that it wants to sublimate even beyond our borders since the Maison M. CHAPOUTIER has extended its domains to Spain, Portugal and even Australia! It is now the owner of a dozen Domains throughout the world. It has also distinguished itself by its innovative and sharing initiatives such as the creation in 1996 of the first labels in Braille or the establishment of the first competition for the Best Student Sommelier in Wines and Spirits in France to encourage vocations and keep this passionate profession alive. Today, Mathilde and Maxime have joined the company to perpetuate the family tradition.

"Wine comes from the sky and the earth... and from the love we have for it."

Michel Chapoutier

The Vintage

The 2019 vintage in the Rhône Valley was characterised by extreme weather variations although it has given rise to extraordinarily complex wines. The whites are defined by their remarkable minerality owing to the wise decision to harvest early in order to counter the effects of the intense heat. Notes of pear, pineapple and citrus. A silky wine complemented with intense vegetal notes.

 

For M. CHAPOUTIER, the vintage is left as is: no processes such as chaptalisation, the addition of yeast or acidifying agents which would impinge on the unexpected by-products of a capricious climate. Michel Chapoutier says as much: ‘Vintage is truth, not bluff. In a way, correcting a vintage is tantamount to telling a lie. It would be so much more honest to make a wine without vintage’. 

Information

  • Domain M. Chapoutier
  • Vineyard Côtes du Rhône Septentrionales
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 2019
  • Variety 100% Marsanne
  • Culture Biodynamic
  • Alcohol degrees14°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The brilliant and green gold colour catches the eye. The nose is both complex and subtle, with aromas of quince, walnut, honey, ginger, and acacia, accompanied by a hint of linden-tree. On the palate, the attack is frank yet non-aggressive, culminating in an elegant and lengthy finish of almond.

Temperature

12°

Drinking window

5-10 years

Wine and food pairing

Creamy lobster risotto, pint of chorizo

M. Chapoutier Chante-Alouette Hermitage 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Rhône – Hermitage

M. Chapoutier Chante-Alouette Hermitage 2019

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

94 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

DECANTER

La propriété

Tout commence par Michel Chapoutier, singulier, hors du cadre, curieux de tout. Michel n’est pas un esprit figé. C’est un vivant. Sa quête est celle de la découverte, de la révélation de terroirs à potentiel. L’expression des sols. Celle qui donnera sa signature gustative à chaque vin. Une quête guidée par l’audace. Celle de s’ouvrir à d’autres horizons, à d’autres terroirs, tout en restant spécialiste des cépages rhodaniens, véritables racines de la Maison. Provoquer la rencontre entre tradition et modernité, pour imaginer un nouveau savoir-faire. Toujours dans le plus grand respect. Le Respect de la terre. Aujourd’hui, c’est un acquis, chez M. CHAPOUTIER, les équipes perpétuent la révélation de terroir, comme une évidence.

L’humilité est la pierre angulaire de l’esprit M. CHAPOUTIER. Car seule la nature préside. Le vigneron l’observe, choisit et l’accompagne dans le plus grand respect. “Fac et Spera” (fais et espère), devenu devise familiale, en est la plus simple traduction.

“Fac et Spera” (fais et espère) - Devise Familiale

Le vignoble

Située à Tain L’Hermitage, en Vallée du Rhône depuis plus de 210 ans, la Maison M. CHAPOUTIER produit les plus grands vins dans le respect des équilibres naturels et des Terroirs qui les font naitre. Elle a pris un nouveau tournant en 1990 avec l’arrivée de Michel Chapoutier qui a notamment instauré sur ses Domaines la biodynamie. Pionnière en ce domaine, la Maison M. CHAPOUTIER en a fait le principe fondateur de sa philosophie.

L’entreprise a toujours attaché beaucoup d’importance au respect, en commençant par celui de la Terre. Un Terroir qu’elle veut sublimer même au-delà de nos frontières puisque la Maison M. CHAPOUTIER a étendu ses Domaines jusqu’en Espagne, au Portugal et même en Australie ! Elle est ainsi désormais propriétaire d’une dizaine de Domaines à travers le monde. Elle s’est également illustrée par ses initiatives novatrices et tournées vers le partage comme la création en 1996 des premières étiquettes en braille ou l’instauration du 1er concours du Meilleur Elève Sommelier en Vins et Spiritueux de France pour susciter des vocations et faire perdurer ce métier de passion. Aujourd’hui, Mathilde et Maxime ont rejoint l’entreprise afin de perpétuer la Tradition familiale.

"Le vin naît du ciel et de la terre... de l'amour qu'on lui porte."

Michel Chapoutier

Le Millésime

2019 nous fait la surprise de nous offrir des vins aussi complexes que surprenants. Les blancs, sublimés par leur minéralité, ont été préservés de l’effet solaire par des vendanges précoces. Ce vin présente des notes de poire, d'ananas et d'agrumes. Un vin soyeux en bouche avec de belles notes végétales.

Pour M. CHAPOUTIER, le millésime ne se corrige pas. Pas de procédés tels que la chaptalisation, l’ajout de levure ou d’acidifiant qui viendraient rectifier les aléas d’un climat capricieux. Michel Chapoutier l’affirme : “Le millésime est une vérité et non un bluff. Corriger le millésime, c’est un peu mentir. Ou alors, faisons carrément un vin sans millésime, c’est plus honnête.”

Fiche technique

  • Domaine M. Chapoutier
  • Vignoble Côtes du Rhône Septentrionales
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 2019
  • Cépage 100% Marsanne
  • Culture Biodynamique
  • Degrés d'alcool14°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

La robe est d'un brillant vert doré. Le nez est à la fois complexe et subtil, offrant des arômes de coing, de noix, de miel, de gingembre et d'acacia, avec une touche de tilleul. En bouche, l'attaque est franche mais sans agressivité, avec une finale d'amande élégante et très longue.

Service

12°

À déguster

5-10 ans

Accords mets et vins

Risotto crémeux aux langoustines et pointe de chorizo