Clos Triguedina Probus Cuvée Prestige 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

South-West – Cahors

Clos Triguedina Probus Cuvée Prestige 2018

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

The estate

In 1830, Etienne Baldès planted his first plots on the best terraces of the Cahors vineyard. Since then, the Clos Triguedina has been the cradle of the Baldès family. According to the legend, the name of the estate was given by the pilgrims of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle who used to eat there: "Me Trigo de Dina", means "I can't wait to have dinner" in Occitan "The Baldès family has built up the Clos Triguedina by passing on their know-how, emotions and passions from father to son. Their pioneering spirit identifies them as one of the founding families of the Cahors Appellation (participation in the creation of the AOC, first stainless steel vat cellar in 1976...). Jean-Luc Baldès, with his wife Sabine, expresses all his talent on these unique terroirs and strives to reveal the best of them through a range of high quality wines.

" Jean-Luc Baldès is the leading winemaker in Cahors and Clos Triguedina remains one of the flagship properties of the appellation. He produces wines strongly marked by the terroir, intensified by the search for a high level of maturity in the Malbec grapes. The wines have gained in finesse and natural expression."

Revue des Vins de France

Already certified High Environmental Value level 3, the estate has decided to go even further in terms of certification with the aim of obtaining the label "Vignerons engagés". The Baldès family wants to take into account the three pillars of sustainable development: environmental, social and economic. Jean-Luc and Sabine Baldès are driven by an ideal: to offer great wines, identified as benchmarks, references and guarantees of quality in terms of maturity of the fruit, balance, elegance and expression of the terroir. To achieve this, it expresses its know-how and creativity through a rich and audacious range of wines that meet the requirements of the greatest. Innovation is at the heart of this range: Innovation is at the heart of this range: the exceptional New Black Wine, made from heated grapes, the essential Probus, the Trilogy of parcels, the surprising dry and sweet whites, and in 2020 the New Pink Wine, an exceptional Malbec rosé aged in acacia barrels...

" Respecting and enhancing the identity of an appellation is essential. The magic of Clos Triguedina is the richness of its terroirs, which allows me to give free rein to my imagination as a winemaker."

Jean-Luc Baldès

The vineyard

"The magic of Clos Triguedina is the richness of its terroirs, which allows me to give free rein to my imagination as a winemaker."

"Our best working tool is our terroirs! No good wine without good grapes and no good grapes without good care of the vine and the soil".

Jean-Luc Baldès

Located in the heart of the Cahors vineyards in a green setting near Puy l'Evêque to the south-west of Cahors, the estate is nestled between the meandering Lot river and covers 70 hectares. Its clay-limestone and clay-silica soil, similar to the composition of the soil in Pomerol, is ideal for creating great vintages.

Jean-Luc BALDES has the privilege of exploiting his unique terroirs in four communes: Puy l'Evêque (capital of the Cahors vineyard), Vire sur Lot, Floressas and Touzac, all of which are enclosed in the meanders of the Lot, ideal for the production of great wines, on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th terraces The winegrower's work consists of respecting the character and identity of the terroirs, with a view to achieving perfect harmony between the land and the people, in compliance with the rigorous specifications of the demanding High Environmental Value Level 3 certification.

The vineyard, mostly destroyed by phylloxera in 1877, was then completely replanted. Protected by its microclimate, certain plots were spared the frost of 1956 which threatened the entire rebirth of Cahors. These vines, thus preserved, have for some become centenarians.

About Probus Cuvée Prestige

In the year 96 of our era, the Emperor Domitian made tear off the vine to the profit of the culture of the wheat. It was in the 3rd century that the Emperor Probus had the vine replanted in the Quercy. It is to pay homage to him that Jean, the father of Jean-Luc Baldès, created in 1976 this top-of-the-range vintage of the Cahors appellation.

The terroir of this selection comes from the 3rd terrace of the domain, where the soils are both clay-siliceous and clay-limestone. The vines are 100 years old, which gives them an exceptional quality.


On the environmental level, the vines are worked with the greatest care in respect of eco-responsibility and soil preservation. The vinification is also rigorous.


The wine is aged in new oak barrels for 12 months, then tasted and selected from the best barrels.

Information

  • Domain Clos Triguedina
  • Vineyard Cahors
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2018
  • Classification Cahors
  • Variety 100% Malbec
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees15°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Intense and lively nose with flavors of cassis, plum and subtle oaky aroma. Concentrated but very suave palate with splendid fruit and spice flavours. Complex structure with opulent and velvety tannins. Powerful finish.

Temperature

18°

Drinking window

2023-2063

Wine and food pairing

Confit or duck breast, beef ribs, cheese

Clos Triguedina Probus Cuvée Prestige 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Sud-Ouest – Cahors

Clos Triguedina Probus Cuvée Prestige 2018

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

La propriété

En 1830, Etienne Baldès planta ses premières parcelles sur les meilleures terrasses du vignoble de Cahors. Depuis ce temps, le Clos Triguedina est le berceau de la famille Baldès. Selon la légende, le nom du domaine fut donné par les pèlerins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle qui avaient pour coutume de s’y restaurer : « Me Trigo de Dina », signifie « Il me tarde de dîner » en Occitan » La famille Baldès a construit le Clos Triguedina en transmettant de père en fils leur savoir-faire, émotions et passions. Leur tempérament de pionnier les identifie comme une des familles fondatrices de l’Appellation Cahors (Participation à la création de l’AOC, premier chai en cuve inox en 1976…). Jean-Luc Baldès, avec son épouse Sabine, exprime tout son talent sur ces terroirs uniques et s’attache à révéler le meilleur d’eux à travers une gamme de vins de haute qualité.

« Jean-Luc Baldès est le vigneron incontournable de Cahors et Clos Triguedina demeure l’une des propriétés phares de l’appellation. Il y produit des vins fortement marqués par le terroir, intensifiés par la recherche d’une maturité poussée du malbec. Les vins ont gagné en finesse et en naturel d’expression ».

Revue des Vins de France

Déjà certifié Haute Valeur Environnementale niveau 3, le domaine décide d’aller encore plus loin en termes de certification avec l’objectif d’obtenir le label « Vignerons engagés ». La famille Baldès veut prendre en compte les trois piliers du développement durable : environnemental, social et économique. C’est un engagement qui va de la vigne jusqu’au verre, un cahier des charges reconnu basé sur la norme ISO26000, référence internationale. Jean-Luc et Sabine Baldès sont portés par un idéal : offrir des grands vins, identifiés comme des repères, des références et des gages de qualité en termes de maturité du fruit, d’équilibre, d’élégance et d’expressions des terroirs. Pour cela, il exprime son savoir-faire et sa créativité au travers d’une gamme riche et audacieuse de vins répondants aux exigences des plus grands. L’innovation est au coeur de cette gamme : L’exceptionnel New Black Wine, issu de raisins chauffés, l’incontournable Probus, la Trilogie des parcellaires, les surprenants blancs secs et moelleux, et en 2020 le New Pink Wine, Malbec rosé d’exception élevé en fûts d’acacia…

« Le respect et la valorisation de l’identité d’une appellation sont essentiels. La magie du Clos Triguedina, c’est la richesse de ses terroirs qui permet de donner libre cours à mon imagination de vigneron ».

Jean-Luc Baldès

Le vignoble

«La magie du Clos Triguedina, c’est la richesse de ses terroirs qui me permet de donner libre cours à mon imagination de vigneron»

«Notre meilleur outil de travail, ce sont nos terroirs ! Pas de bons vins sans bons raisins et pas de bons raisins sans bons soins à la vigne et au sol».

Jean-Luc Baldès

Situé au coeur du Vignoble de Cahors dans un cadre verdoyant à côté de Puy l’Evêque au sud-ouest de Cahors, le domaine est niché entre les méandres de la rivière Lot et s’étend sur 70 hectares. Son sol argilo-calcaire et argilo-siliceux, similaire à la composition du sol de Pomerol est tout indiqué pour créer de très grands millésimes.

Jean-Luc BALDES a le privilège d’exploiter ses terroirs uniques sur quatre communes : Puy l’Evêque (capitale du vignoble de Cahors), Vire sur Lot, Floressas et Touzac, enserrées dans les méandres du Lot, des terrains de prédilection pour l’élaboration de Grands Vins, en 2èmes, 3èmes et 4èmes terrasses. Le travail du vigneron consiste à respecter le caractère et l’identité des terroirs, dans un souci d’harmonie parfaite entre la terre et les hommes et ce dans le respect du cahier des charges rigoureux de la certification exigeante Haute Valeur Environnementale Niveau 3.

Le vignoble, majoritairement détruit par le phylloxera en 1877, fut par la suite totalement replanté. Protégé par son microclimat, certaines parcelles seront épargnées par la gelée de 1956 qui menaça l’entière renaissance de Cahors. Ces vignes, ainsi préservées, sont pour certaines devenues centenaires.

Le Probus Cuvée Prestige

En l’an 96 de notre ère, l’Empereur Domitien fit arracher la vigne au profit de la culture du blé. C’est au IIIème siècle que l’Empereur Probus fit replanter la vigne dans le Quercy. C’est pour lui rendre hommage que Jean, le père de Jean-Luc Baldès, a créé en 1976 cette cuvée haut de gamme de l’appellation Cahors.

Le terroir de cette sélection provient de la 3ème terrasse du domaine, où les sols sont à la fois argilo-siliceux et argilo-calcaires. Les vignes sont centenaires, ce qui leur confère une qualité exceptionnelle.


Sur le plan environnemental, la vigne est travaillée avec le plus grand soin dans le respect de l’éco-responsabilité et de la préservation des sols. La vinification est également rigoureuse.


Le vin est élevé en fûts de chêne neufs pendant 12 mois, puis dégusté et sélectionné parmi les meilleurs fûts.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Clos Triguedina
  • Vignoble Cahors
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2018
  • Classification Cahors
  • Cépage 100% Malbec
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool15°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Nez intense de fruits noirs, pruneaux auquel se mêlent des notes épicées. La bouche est concentrée. Les tanins en bouche sont droits et veloutés. Finale longue et persistante. Evoluera patiemment vers des arômes de sous-bois tout en conservant beaucoup de fraîcheur.

Service

18°

À déguster

2023-2063

Accords mets et vins

Confit ou les magrets de canard, côtes de boeuf, fromages