Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Bordeaux

Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

The estate

It is on a very old Sauternes terroir, one of the finest white terroirs in the world, that the Clos des Lunes is located, Its "birth certificate" was signed in 2011 by Olivier Bernard accompanied by his team from Domaine de Chevalier, the famous Grand Cru Classé of Pessac-Léognan.

The commitment and the will are clear: to produce on this vineyard one of the greatest dry white wines on the market. On this magnificent hilly vineyard, planted with old Semillons and Sauvignons, the harvest is entirely manual, carried out in successive selections, as the grapes mature. Vinification and aging are carried out partly in barrels. In order to validate the practices that are current at the property, the Clos des Lunes has officially committed to organic conversion. The first organic label will be awarded in 2023.

"Our philosophy has always been: A great wine is always made from superb grapes."

Olivier Bernard

The vineyard

The vineyard extends over sixty hectares. Planted mainly with Sémillon (70%) and Sauvignon located on the best plots of the five Sauternes communes, it benefits from a mosaic of terroirs (deep gravel, clayey gravel, clay-limestone), which give the grapes a wide range of tastes and aromas.

«  I am looking for trully great fruit , from this outstanding terroir. »

Olivier Bernard

The vintage

Lune d'Argent is the heart of the Clos des Lunes production. With a touch of French oak, the Semillon is dense and rich, the Sauvignon Blanc refined and fine. It is the promise of a great dry white wine that captures all the magic of Sauternes.

This vintage was marked by the sequence of two extreme but complementary climatic seasons:


The rainy period from January to early July.
A year of rainfall in just 7 months (!) Puts a strain on the morale of our winegrowers. Fortunately, the essential water reserves in the soil are at their highest.
And then comes the miracle...


The hot, sunny and dry period from July until the end of the harvest.
These excellent water reserves were abundantly exploited by the vineyard during the 4 months of a historically bright, hot and dry summer. In our gravelly soils, maturity was ideal: an almost perfect balance between power, record concentration and freshness.

Information

  • Domain Clos des Lunes
  • Vineyard Sauternais
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 2018
  • Variety 70% sémillon
    30% sauvignon
  • Culture undergoing organic conversion
  • Alcohol degrees13°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Light gold, clear straw color. The nose creates a full bouquet of white fruits, peach, apricots, mango, Spanish melon jam and orange zest. The palate is soft, smooth, rich, precise and glowing full of the same white fruits exquisite flavors. This richness is compensated with a splendid freshness providing a balance and very silky finish.

Temperature

10°

Drinking window

2023-2027

Wine and food pairing

seafood, fish, white meat in sauce, cheese (old Comté)

Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Bordeaux

Clos des Lunes Lune d'argent 2018

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

La propriété

C’est sur un très ancien terroir du Sauternais, parmi les plus grands terroirs de blanc du monde, que se situe le Clos des Lunes, dont l'acte de naissance a été signé en 2011 par Olivier Bernard accompagné de son équipe du Domaine de Chevalier, le célèbre Grand Cru Classé de Pessac-Léognan.

L'engagement et la volonté sont clairs : produire sur ce vignoble l'un des plus grands vins blancs secs du marché. Sur ce magnifique vignoble vallonné, planté de vieux sémillons et de sauvignons, les vendanges sont intégralement manuelles, effectuées par tries successives, au fur et à mesure de la maturité des raisins. Vinification et élevage s'effectuent en partie en barriques. Afin de valider les pratiques qui ont cours à la propriété, le Clos des Lunes s'est engagé officiellement en conversion bio. Le premier label bio sera attribué en 2023.

«  Notre philosophie est simple et claire : Un grand vin nait toujours d'un grand raisin ». Olivier Bernard

Le vignoble

Le vignoble s'étend sur une soixantaine d'hectares. Planté majoritairement de sémillon (70%) et de sauvignon situés sur les meilleurs parcelles des cinq communes du Sauternais, il bénéficie d'une mosaïque de terroirs (graves profondes, graves argileuses, argilo-calcaire), qui confèrent aux raisins, une large palette de goûts et d'arômes.

«  Sur ce terroir exceptionnel, je suis venu chercher de très grands fruits. »

Olivier Bernard

Le Millésime

Lune d'Argent est le cœur de la production du domaine Clos des Lunes. Avec une touche de chêne français, le sémillon se veut dense et riche, le sauvignon blanc, raffiné et fin. C’est la promesse d’une grande cuvée de vin blanc sec qui s’empare de toute la magie de Sauternes.

Ce millésime aura été marqué par l’enchainement de deux saisons climatiques extrêmes, mais complémentaires :


La période pluvieuse de janvier à début juillet.
Une année de pluviométrie en seulement 7 mois ( ! ) met à rude épreuve le moral de nos vignerons. Conséquence heureuse, les indispensables réserves en eau dans le sol sont au plus haut.
Et puis vient le miracle…


La période chaude, ensoleillée et sèche de juillet jusqu’à la fin des vendanges
Ces excellentes réserves hydriques furent abondamment exploitées par le vignoble pendant les 4 mois d’un été historiquement lumineux, chaud et sec. Dans nos sols graveleux, la maturité fut idéale : Equilibre quasi parfait entre puissance, concentration record et fraicheur.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Clos des Lunes
  • Vignoble Sauternais
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 2018
  • Cépage 70% sémillon
    30% sauvignon
  • Culture en conversion bio
  • Degrés d'alcool13°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Teinte or clair, paille de blé Nez en bouquet de fruits blancs, pêche, abricot, mangue, confiture de melon d’Espagne et zeste d’orange. Bouche douce, onctueuse, riche, précise et rayonnante de saveurs délicieuses des mêmes fruits blancs présents olfactivement. Cette richesse est compensée par une très belle fraicheur, ce qui donne en finale un équilibre très suave.

Service

10°

À déguster

2023-2027

Accords mets et vins

poissons, fruits de mer, viande blanche en sauce, fromages (vieux comté)