Le Seuil de Mazeyres 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Pomerol

Le Seuil de Mazeyres 2019

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

The estate

Those who have had the chance to meet Alain Moueix know that his wines resemble the man. At Château Mazeyres just as at Fonroque (a Grand Cru Classé in Saint-Émilion), he vinifies wines that tend more towards restraint, length on the palate and elegance rather than power and exuberance. Alain Moueix has made Château Mazeyres a Pomerol estate to be closely watched. Until the end of the 1980s, the vineyard barely covered 8 hectares (less than 20 acres). Only when the estate was bought by the Caisse de Retraite de la Société Générale and Alain Moueix arrived at the helm in 1992, did Mazeyres find new momentum. A quarter of a century later, the work undertaken bore its fruit. Sold in 2010 to SOGECAP, the life insurance branch of the Société Générale, the château is run “like a family estate”, which allows Alain Moueix to pursue his wine-growing convictions in total freedom: in the field of organic-growing, for which trials were introduced in 2010, leading to the completion of organic conversion in 2015. Then in the practice of biodynamic growing which culminated in the first certified vintage being made in 2018. A vine-growing approach which, in the words of the director, “brings more freshness, relief and life to the wine”. In July 2020, the Guillard family, already owners of Château Fonroque, acquired Château Mazeyres and gave the team the means to continue the progress made.

It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare. It is because we dare not that they seem difficult”

Sénèque

The vineyard

The Mazeyres terroirs lend themselves well to this profile of wine. The third largest estate in Pomerol covering some 25.57 hectares, Mazeyres stretches over three distinct types of terroir to the west and to the south of the appellation : fine gravel with a little clay, giving fine, linear wines; then sand and clay in the south, which offer wines that are fleshy and round; and at the bottom of the plateau, the clay soils bring more tight-knit and tannic wines.

"It's what we think we know that keeps us from learning"

Claude Bernard

The Vintage

Very favorable conditions for this vintage. After a cold January, temperatures in February and March were very mild. The result was an early budding. Spring was cool and humid, except during the second half of April and June. These spring conditions caused a slowdown in the growth of the vine. From the first day of summer, the change was radical with a hot and dry climate very favorable to the development of the aromatic and phenolic potential of the grapes. Then two heat waves happened in June and July, and a rainy period in early August, which it accompanied with biodynamic preparations and herbal teas. These actions helped to avoid the installation of excessive water stress. Beginning of September remained summer. The choice was to harvest the Merlots early at a particularly fast ripening rate and to maintain balances in harmony with the refinement of the wines. The result is a rich and harmonious wine with a silky texture. Its elegance makes it one of their best vintages.

Information

  • Domain Château Mazeyres
  • Vineyard Rive Droite
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2019
  • Classification 2e vin
  • Variety 81% Merlot
    13% Cabernet Franc
    6% Petit Verdot
  • Culture Biodynamic
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Purple color - A wine of great pleasure that focuses on the fruity character and lots of sweetness. A walk where blueberries, wild blackberries and black cherries meet. A few sweet spices complete the landscape. The tannins are smooth and the wine has a nice freshness.

Temperature

17°

Drinking window

2025-2035

Wine and food pairing

T-Bone, Duck breast, larded monkfish

Le Seuil de Mazeyres 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Pomerol

Le Seuil de Mazeyres 2019

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

La propriété

Qui a croisé Alain Moueix sait que ses vins lui ressemblent. Au château Mazeyres comme à Fonroque, Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Émilion, il signe des vins davantage portés sur la retenue, la longueur et l’élégance que sur la puissance et l’exubérance. Alain Moueix a placé Château Mazeyres parmi les domaines à suivre de près à Pomerol. Jusqu’à la fin des années 1980, le vignoble dépassait tout juste les 8 hectares. C’est avec son rachat par la Caisse de Retraite de la Société Générale et l’arrivée en 1992 d’Alain Moueix aux commandes, que Mazeyres va entamer son nouvel essor. Un quart de siècle plus tard, le travail a porté ses fruits. Cédé en 2010 à Sogecap, la branche assurance vie de la Société Générale, le château est dirigé « comme une propriété familiale », ce qui permet à Alain Moueix d’aller au bout de ses convictions : pour le bio – essais dès 2010, conversion finalisée en 2015 – et pour la biodynamie – premier millésime certifié en 2018. Une voie qui, pour le directeur, apporte « plus de fraîcheur, de relief et de vie au vin ». En juillet 2020, la Famille Guillard déjà propriétaire du Château Fonroque acquiert le Château Mazeyres et donne à l’équipe les moyens de poursuivre les progrès accomplis.

“Ce n’est pas parce que les choses sont difficiles que nous n’osons pas. C’est parce ce que nous n’osons pas qu'elles semblent difficiles”

Sénèque

Le vignoble

Les terroirs de Mazeyres s’y prêtent volontiers. Troisième plus vaste propriété de Pomerol avec 25,5 hectares, Mazeyres se déploie sur trois types de terroirs distincts, à l’ouest et au sud de l’appellation : des graves fines avec un peu d’argile, qui donnent des vins fins et linéaires ; au sud, des sables et des argiles, qui donnent des vins charnus et ronds ; en bas du plateau, des sols argileux, qui donnent des vins plus serrés et tanniques.

“C’est ce que nous pensons savoir qui nous empêche d’apprendre ”

Claude Bernard

Le Millésime

Des conditions très favorables pour ce millésime. Après un mois de janvier froid, les températures de février et mars ont été très douces, favorisant un débourrement précoce. Le printemps a été frais et humide, sauf durant les deuxièmes quinzaines d’avril et de juin. Ces atermoiements printaniers ont provoqué un ralentissement de croissance de la vigne. Dès le premier jour de l’été, le changement a été radical avec un climat chaud et sec très favorable au développement du potentiel aromatique et phénolique des raisins. S’en sont suivis deux épisodes caniculaires fin juin et fin juillet, et une période pluvieuse début août, qui a été accompagné de préparations biodynamiques et de tisanes. Ces gestes ont permis d’éviter l’installation d’un stress hydrique excessif. Début septembre est resté estival. Le choix a été fait de vendanger tôt les merlots afin d' adapter les vignerons au rythme de maturation particulièrement rapide et conserver des équilibres compatibles avec le raffinement des vins. Il en résulte un breuvage riche et harmonieux, de texture soyeuse. Son classicisme en fait un de leurs grands millésimes.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château Mazeyres
  • Vignoble Rive Droite
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2019
  • Classification 2e vin
  • Cépage 81% Merlot
    13% Cabernet Franc
    6% Petit Verdot
  • Culture Biodynamique
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Robe pourpre violacée - Un vin de grand plaisir qui mise sur le caractère fruité et la gourmandise. Une promenade où myrtilles, mûres sauvages et cerises noires se sont donné rendez-vous. Quelques épices douces viennent compléter le paysage. Les tanins sont suaves et le vin possède une jolie fraîcheur.

Service

17°

À déguster

2025-2035

Accords mets et vins

Entrecôte aux sarments, Magret de canard, Lotte lardée