Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux  – Pessac-Léognan

Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion 2017

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

96 100

DECANTER

The estate

Château les Carmes Haut-Brion, in the city and out of time. In 2010, Patrice Pichet bought Château les Carmes Haut-Brion, a heart of vines that the walled estate preserves from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is the only property in Bordeaux to be located in the city of Bordeaux. A rare vineyard of 7.6 hectares, Les Carmes Haut-Brion benefits from a unique grape variety for the left bank, mostly composed of Cabernet Franc. In this new era, design is now assumed as a true art in the service of taste. In 2014, under the guidance of Philippe Starck, the project of a new winery brings out the questions of the form in the elaboration of the wine. The winemakers, around Guillaume Pouthier, take their place in the long heritage of Les Carmes. A passion that can be passed on, which is propagated over the vintages. Leading a viticulture committed to the respect of the environment, of the balance, of the diversity of the fauna and flora, the team studies and questions each gesture. In the cellar, this inspired vision of the place continues; for ten years now, the Carmes winegrowers have opted for round grape vinification and partially whole bunch vinification and have affirmed their art of infusion. They diversify and adapt the shapes, volumes and materials of the vats. The same goes for the ageing process, with the integration of tuns, clay and sandstone amphoras to complement the traditional use of oak barrels. The wines owe their singularity to the expression of the unique place. The techniques used are all in the service of the same quest: the aromatic brilliance, balance and drinkability of the wines.

The vineyard

It is the only property in Bordeaux to be located in the city of Bordeaux. Les Carmes Haut-Brion benefits from a unique grape variety for the left bank, predominantly Cabernet Franc.In 2017, the vineyard had a total area of 29.6 hectares, of which 7.6 hectares were destined for Grand Vin production. The planting density was 10,000 vines per hectare and the average age of the vines was 42 years. The soil type was Graves du Mindel resting on a clay-limestone base.

The Vintage

2017 will remain in the collective memory as associated with spring frost episodes. Nevertheless, on the properties partially or totally spared, it remains partially or totally spared, an interesting vintage qualitatively. First of all, its earliness at bud break and the speed and speed and homogeneity of the flowering, predisposed the vintage to an early cycle and potentially an early maturation. The abundant rainfall at the end of June, shortly before bunch closure, also conditioned a rather large berry size. The veraison before the vine stopped growing; the ripening took full advantage of an overall warmer than average month of August The ripening took full advantage of an August that was warmer than average, but with cool nights to maintain high organic acid and aroma potential.

 

Accompanying the plant, disturbed in its rhythm, and marvelling at the generosity of what it still offers. Expressions of juicy fruit, a salinity overlain with sweetness, a balance that is our joy as winegrowers.

Information

  • Domain Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion
  • Vineyard Graves
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2017
  • Variety 41% Cabernet Franc
    30% Merlot
    29% Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Notes of fresh blackberry, citrus, tobacco, dry herbs. Long and firm mouthfeel, with an energetic, half-bodied flesh. Evocation in the evolution of smoked notes typical of the place and of a classy floral freshness (violet)

Temperature

18°

Drinking window

2024 - 2047

Wine and food pairing

Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Pessac-Léognan

Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion 2017

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

96 100

DECANTER

La propriété

Château les Carmes Haut-Brion, dans la ville et hors du temps. En 2010, Patrice Pichet se porte acquéreur du Château les Carmes Haut-Brion, un cœur de vignes que le clos préserve des agitations de la ville. C’est la seule propriété de Bordeaux à être située dans la ville de Bordeaux. Vignoble rare de 7,6 hectares, Les Carmes Haut-Brion profite d’un encépagement unique pour la rive gauche, majoritairement composé de Cabernet Franc. Dans cette nouvelle ère, le design s’assume désormais comme un véritable art au service du goût. En 2014, sous la conduite de Philippe Starck le projet d’un nouveau chai fait émerger les questions de la forme dans l’élaboration du vin. Les vignerons, autour de Guillaume Pouthier, prennent leur place dans le long héritage des Carmes. Une passion, transmissible, qui se propage au fil des millésimes. Menant une viticulture engagée pour le respect de l’environnement, des équilibres, de la diversité de la faune et de la flore, l’équipe étudie et questionne chaque geste. Au chai se prolonge cette vision inspirée des lieux ; voilà dix ans déjà que les vignerons des Carmes optent pour des vinifications en grains ronds et partiellement en grappes entières et affirment leur art de l’infusion. Ils diversifient et adaptent formes, volumes et matières des cuves. Idem pour les élevages avec l’intégration de foudres, d’amphores d’argile et de grès pour compléter l’usage traditionnel des barriques de chêne. Les vins doivent leur singularité à l’expression du lieu unique. Les techniques utilisées sont au service de la même quête : l’éclat aromatique, l’équilibre et la buvabilité des vins.

Le vignoble

C’est la seule propriété de Bordeaux à être située dans la ville de Bordeaux. Les Carmes Haut-Brion profite d’un encépagement unique pour la rive gauche, majoritairement composé de Cabernet Franc.

En 2017, le vignoble avait une superficie totale de 29,6 hectares, dont 7,6 hectares étaient destinés à la production du Grand Vin. La densité de plantation était de 10 000 pieds par hectare et l'âge moyen des vignes était de 42 ans. Le type de sols étaient des Graves du Mindel reposant sur un socle argilo-calcaire.

Le Millésime

2017 restera dans la mémoire collective comme associé aux épisodes de gel de printemps. Il n’en demeure pas moins, sur les propriétés partiellement ou totalement épargnées, un millésime intéressant qualitativement. En premier lieu sa précocité au débourrement et la vitesse et l’homogénéité de la floraison, ont prédisposé le millésime à un cycle et potentiellement une maturation précoces. Les pluies abondantes de fin juin, peu avant fermeture de la grappe, ont par ailleurs conditionné une taille de baie plutôt importante. La véraison survient ainsi avant l’arrêt de croissance de la vigne ; la maturation profite alors pleinement d’un mois d’août globalement plus chaud que la moyenne, avec toutefois des nuits fraîches garantes du maintien de potentiels élevés en acides organiques et en arômes.

Accompagner la plante, perturbée dans son rythme, et s’émerveiller de la générosité de ce qu’elle offre encore. Des expressions de fruits juteux, une salinité doublée de douceur, un équilibre qui fait notre joie de vigneron.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion
  • Vignoble Graves
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2017
  • Cépage 41% Cabernet Franc
    30% Merlot
    29% Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Notes de mûre fraîche, d'agrumes, de tabac, d'herbes sèches. Bouche longiligne, tenue et ferme, à la chair tramée, énergique, de demi-corps. Evocation à l'évolution de notes fumées typiques du lieu et d'une fraîcheur florale classieuse (violette)

Service

18°

À déguster

2024 - 2047

Accords mets et vins