Château Léoville Las Cases 2007 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Julien

Chateau Léoville Las Cases 2007

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

95 100

JAMES SUCKLING

95 100

DECANTER

94 100

BECKUSTATOR

94 100

ALEXANDRE MA

The estate

One of the oldest Medoc estates, Domaine de Léoville belonged to some of the wealthiest and most influential noble French families before it was acquired by the Las Cases family. The estate was split up between 1826 and 1840 as a result of the French Revolution. (Expropriation of emigrants’ property and constitution of egalitarian redistribution). Château Léoville Las Cases was created, thanks to a kind of birthright, from 3/5 of the original estate and the heart of the domain. The Grand Vin’s current terroir has therefore been at the historic heart of the original terroir since the 17th century. Pierre Jean, Adolphe and Gabriel de Las Cases were successive heirs to the property until 1900, when Théophile Skawinski purchased a share in the estate and became its manager. Léoville Las Cases has now been managed by the same family since the late 19th century and is today represented by Jean-Hubert Delon, sole owner of the Château and proprietor of Château Potensac in the Medoc and Château Nénin in Pomerol.

The vineyard

The Grand Enclos de Las Cases is blessed with a very complex terroir. Mostly made up of Quaternary gravel on a sandy-gravelly and clayey-gravelly subsoil, we also find clays of varying depths and compactness, sometimes even outcropping. The proximity of the Gironde is responsible for this great diversity of soils, created over the geological periods by successive superimpositions. In addition, the river generates a very specific microclimate which allows the grapes to ripen very early and protects the vineyards from frost. This range of geological combinations influences the development of the vine and the constitution of the grapes. This incomparable terroir offers the great wine its unique personality.

The vintage

Château Léoville Las Cases comprises two properties with distinct terroir characteristics and therefore produces two first wines with different tastes, despite an obvious filiation. The Grand Vin de Las Cases is for the most part made from the exceptional terroirs of the former Domaine de Léoville. These terroirs are mainly located in the Clos Léoville Las Cases, at the exit of the Bourg de Saint-Julien, in the direction of Pauillac. The complex and accomplished expression of the Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc gives the Grand Vin de Léoville du Marquis de las Cases its own unique character, which has long been universally recognised.

Thanks to a very hot spring the beginning of the cycle was quick and very early then the colder weather of July slowed the growth down considerably. The vintage continued with a cool and rainy month of August. A welcome change in the weather came with the month of September, ideally hot and dry, allowing the grapes to finish the ripening process in excellent conditions.

Information

  • Domain Chateau Léoville Las Cases
  • Vineyard Médoc
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2007
  • Classification 2e Cru Classé
  • Variety 82% Cabernet Sauvignon
    10% Cabernet Franc
    8% Merlot
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Fresh and elegant, Las Cases 2007 is now perfectly ready to be enjoyed: its terroir is singing through notes of cedar, graphite, but also black berry and spice aromas. On the palate, the wine is distinguished by its harmony and the finesse of its tannins, which are extremely silky while maintaining a splendid, caressing structure. A noble wine, now at its apotheosis, but with enough reserve for several more years.

Temperature

16°

Drinking window

2040-2045

Wine and food pairing

veal fillet with morels, duck breast with grapes and crushed vitelottes, chicken tagine, grilled cod with chorizo, pan-fried vegetables with madras curry.

Château Léoville Las Cases 2007 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Julien

Château Léoville Las Cases 2007

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

95 100

JAMES SUCKLING

95 100

DECANTER

94 100

BECKUSTATOR

94 100

ALEXANDRE MA

La propriété

Le Domaine de Léoville, un des plus anciens vignobles médocains, appartint aux familles nobles françaises les plus fortunées et les plus influentes pour parvenir à celle de Las Cases. En conséquence de la Révolution française (expropriations des biens d’émigrés, création du partage égalitaire), le domaine fut divisé entre les années 1826 et 1840. Par une sorte de survivance du droit d’ainesse, Léoville las Cases qui représente les 3/5 et le cœur de l’ancien domaine fut alors créé. Le terroir actuel du Grand Vin est donc le cœur historique du terroir d’origine, et ce depuis le 17ᵉ siècle. Le portail, emblème de la propriété, s’ouvre sur un clos d’environ 55 ha entouré d’un mur de pierre délimitant son terroir et s’étendant du bourg de Saint-Julien jusqu’au Château Latour. Depuis la fin du 19ᵉ siècle, Léoville las Cases est géré par la même famille représentée actuellement par Mr. Jean-Hubert Delon, seul propriétaire.

Le vignoble

Le Grand Enclos de Las Cases renferme un terroir d’une très grande complexité. Issu majoritairement de graves du Quaternaire sur sous-sol gravelo-sableux et gravelo-argileux, on rencontre également des argiles plus ou moins profondes et compactes, parfois même affleurantes. La proximité de la Gironde est responsable de cette grande diversité de sols, créée au fil des périodes géologiques par superpositions successives. De plus, le fleuve génère un microclimat bien spécifique qui permet une maturité très précoce des raisins et protège le vignoble du gel. Ce camaïeu de combinaisons géologiques influe sur le développement de la vigne et sur la constitution des raisins. Ce terroir incomparable offre au grand vin sa personnalité unique.

Le Millésime

Le Château Léoville Las Cases comprend deux propriétés avec des caractéristiques de terroir distinctes et produit par conséquent deux premiers vins de goûts différents, malgré une filiation évidente. Le Grand Vin de Las Cases est en très grande majorité issu des terroirs d’exception provenant du cadastre de l’ancien Domaine de Léoville. Ces terroirs se situent pour l’essentiel dans le Clos Léoville Las Cases, à la sortie du Bourg de Saint-Julien, en direction de Pauillac. L’expression si complexe et aboutie des Cabernets Sauvignons et des Cabernets Francs confère au Grand Vin de Léoville du Marquis de las Cases une typicité totalement propre, très anciennement et universellement reconnue.

Grâce à un printemps très chaud, le début de cycle 2007 fut rapide et très précoce puis la fraicheur de juillet réduisit fortement l'avance acquise. Le millésime se poursuivît ensuite avec un mois d'août frais et pluvieux. S'en suivit un mois de septembre idéalement sec et chaud qui permit au raisin d'achever sa maturation dans d'excellentes conditions

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Chateau Léoville Las Cases
  • Vignoble Médoc
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2007
  • Classification 2e Cru Classé
  • Cépage 82% Cabernet Sauvignon
    10% Cabernet Franc
    8% Merlot
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Frais et élégant, le Las Cases 2007 est parfaitement à point : son terroir s’exprime aujourd’hui pleinement au travers de notes de cèdres, de graphite mais également des parfums de baies noires et d'épices. En bouche le vin se distingue par son harmonie et par la finesse de ses tannins, extrêmement soyeux tout en maintenant une splendide structure caressante. Un vin noble, précis désormais à son apothéose tout en ayant suffisamment de réserve pour plusieurs années encore.

Service

16°

À déguster

2040-2045

Accords mets et vins

un filet de veau aux morilles, un magret de canard au raisin et écrasé de vitelottes, un tajine de poulet, du cabillaud grillé au chorizo, des légumes poêles au curry de madras.