Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Julien

Château Lagrange 2015

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

95 100

DECANTER

The estate

Suntory’s chairman, Keizo Saji, and vice-chairman, Shinichiro Torii, decided to do the absolute maximum to allow the re-birth of this Grand Cru Classé. Marcel Ducasse, graduate of the Bordeaux Institute of Oenology was recruited to undertake a total re-structuring of the property alongside Kenji Suzuta and then Keiichi Shiina. Over the first ten years the team at Lagrange undertook an ambitious renovation project, painstakingly working to regain the prestigious image this Cru had enjoyed in the past. A re-birth was achieved over a total of more than thirty years of technical and human investments. Today, Matthieu Bordes and his team are continuing to write Lagrange’s history, in a mindful quest for excellence, producing unique, distinguished wines of character, in keeping with the elegant Saint-Julien style.

An uncompromising quest for excellence, such is the philosophy here. For several decades now the exceptional terroir has inspired a unique approach where precision and innovation are paramount.

The vineyard

Perched on two Gunzian gravel slopes, one of which boasts the highest point in the appellation, the beautiful vineyard of Château Lagrange stretches over 118 hectares in a single block. There are more than a hundred individual plots with 67% Cabernet Sauvignon, 28% Merlot and 5% Petit-Verdot. Our vines are on average 40 years old, the oldest dating back to 1952. 17 different soils and sub-soils have been identified, meaning the grape varieties and rootstocks can be adapted to each terroir, tailoring the viticultural choices to bring out the best expression of each plot’s character. There are also 11 hectares dedicated to white grape varieties with 80% Sauvignon Blanc, 10% Sauvignon Gris and 10% Sémillon.

A visionary approach that has been maintained over the decades : always show the greatest possible respect for the terroir and the environment.

The vintage

Balance, power, precision

A veritable demonstration of balance, this wine illustrates the perfect alchemy between the three grape varieties : Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot. Powerful and lively in its youth, a slow, serene evolution over time endows this wine with a delicate elegance.

THE VINTAGE

The dry, mild spring weather encouraged the budburst although we cannot say this was an early vintage. The flowering and colour change took place in excellent conditions, around the average dates recorded on the property.

Information

  • Domain Château Lagrange
  • Vineyard Médoc
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2015
  • Classification 3e Cru Classé
  • Variety 75 % Cabernet Sauvignon
    17% Merlot
    8% Petit Verdot
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Dark purple red with violet hue and almost black core. Aromatic nose with elegant character, dark berries, discreet oak spices and very fine toasted aromas. On the palate full­bodied yet elegant, ripe tannins with velvety character, with a long and fruity finish carried by the bold Cabernet Sauvignon. A powerful and well balanced wine.

Temperature

18°

Drinking window

2022-2040

Wine and food pairing

Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Lagrange 2015 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Julien

Château Lagrange 2015

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

95 100

DECANTER

La propriété

Le Président de Suntory, Keizo Saji et son Vice-Président, Shinichiro Torii, mettent tout en oeuvre pour faire renaître ce Grand Cru Classé. Afin de conduire une profonde restructuration de la propriété, Marcel Ducasse diplômé de l’Institut d’Oenologie de Bordeaux est recruté aux côtés de Kenji Suzuta puis de Keiichi Shiina. Ainsi, l’équipe de Lagrange, pendant les dix premières années, exécute l’ambitieux projet de rénovation du domaine et s’emploie, sans relâche, à redonner à ce Cru l’image prestigieuse d’autrefois. Une renaissance après trente années de passion, de travail et de savoir-faire. Aujourd’hui Le Château Lagrange continue d’écrire son histoire. Et c’est entre les mains de Matthieu Bordes et son équipe que le domaine poursuit sa quête de sens et d’excellence afin d’offrir des vins racés, élégants au caractère unique, dignes des grands Saint-Julien.

La recherche de l’excellence, sans compromis : c’est la philosophie du domaine depuis maintenant plusieurs décennies, grâce à un terroir exceptionnel et à une approche basée sur la précision et l’innovation.

Le vignoble

Situé sur deux croupes de graves Günziennes, dont l’une est le point culminant de l’appellation, le vignoble du Château Lagrange s’étend sur 118 hectares d’un seul tenant. 67% de Cabernet Sauvignon, 28% de Merlot et 5% de Petit-Verdot représentent l’encépagement, répartis en plus de 100 parcelles individuelles. Les vignes ont en moyenne 40 ans et la plus ancienne date de 1952. 17 sols et sous-sols différents ont été identifiés, permettant ainsi d’adapter les cépages et porte-greffes aux terroirs, et de pousser l’approche d’une viticulture sur-mesure, parcelle par parcelle, afin d’en exprimer au mieux le caractère. 11 hectares sont également dédiés à la production du vin blanc soit 80% de Sauvignon blanc, 10% de Sauvignon gris et 10% de Sémillon.

Une démarche visionnaire depuis plusieurs décennies que la propriété s’efforce de faire perdurer : être le plus respectueux possible du terroir et de l’environnement.

Le Millésime

Équilibre, puissance, précision

Tel un équilibriste, ce vin exprime l’harmonie parfaite entre les 3 cépages plantés sur le domaine : Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot et Petit Verdot. Un vin puissant et éclatant dans sa jeunesse, dont l’évolution lente et sereine lui confère une grande délicatesse.

LE MILLESIME

Les conditions sèches et douces du printemps ont rapidement favorisé le débourrement de la vigne sans pour autant parler de millésime précoce. La floraison et la véraison se déroulent dans d’excellentes conditions, conformes aux moyennes enregistrées sur le domaine.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château Lagrange
  • Vignoble Médoc
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2015
  • Classification 3e Cru Classé
  • Cépage 75 % Cabernet Sauvignon
    17% Merlot
    8% Petit Verdot
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

La couleur est sombre avec des reflets pourpres. Nez aromatique avec des notes élégantes de fruits noirs, finement boisées avec un toasté fondu et discret. L’attaque, charnue et volumineuse, reste très élégante soutenue par des tanins mûrs et veloutés. La finale est longue portée par des cabernets sauvignon racés Un vin complet, complexe et harmonieux.

Service

18°

À déguster

2022-2040

Accords mets et vins