Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Sauternes

Château d'Yquem 2017

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

99 100

JAMES SUCKLING

96 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

96 100

DECANTER

18.5 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

The estate

More than simply a wine, Château d’Yquem offers an unforgettable moment of grace for the senses and the soul.

The history of Yquem remains somewhat of a mystery. Although vines have undoubtedly grown there for a very long time, the present château is relatively recent. In the mid-15th century, the estate came into the hands of the Dukes of Aquitaine and then to the French royal family. In 1711, Léon de Sauvage bought the estate from the royal treasury and became sole owner. His great grandaughter, Françoise-Joséphine de Sauvage d'Yquem, married Louis-Amédée de Lur Saluces in 1785. Yquem stayed in this family until 1999.

In May 2004, L.V.M.H (Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton), main shareholders of Château d'Yquem since 1999, asked Pierre Lurton to take over management of the estate.

« I do not call Yquem a wine, as there are "wines" and Yquem is unique. I prefer the term nectar…. »

Frédéric Dard

The vineyard

Château d’Yquem is an extraordinary place, at the very heart of Sauternes, with a hundred hectares of vineyards are planted on a mosaic of different soils. All the conditions are there to grow exceptional grapes and achieve the finest noble rot, the famous Botrytis cinerea.

Through a sublimation process, the grapes reach a level a richness in taste and aromas that is simply unique in the world. Yquem preciously protects its selective harvesting secret, carried out by a team of devoted highly experienced local pickers, who have received their ancestral knowledge from the generations that came before them. Therefore, only the best grapes sublimated by botrytis cinerea are picked, because this is the golden rule at Yquem: never look for simplification, or shortcuts, and accept the risk of losing everything. This is the price to pay to achieve excellence.

The Vintage

Yquem wine has a long life. Twenty, fifty, one hundred years and more... Like all great wines, Yquem transforms with age, releasing different, often more subtle, aromas and flavors. Its color changes with the years, passing as if from dawn to dusk, from shimmering straw yellow to burnished gold, to amber nuances, from mahogany to ebony.

 

2017 was a year with total botrytis and tremendous concentration that called for very specific sorting techniques to stay within the parameters defined by Yquem.


To summarise, 2017 is a very great success, worthy of the finest vintages ending in "7".

Information

  • Domain Château d'Yquem
  • Vineyard Sauternes
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 2017
  • Classification 1er Cru Supérieur
  • Variety 75% Sémillon
    25% Sauvignon
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees14°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Brilliant color, pale yellow. Very aromatic nose, fine, fruity, subtle and noble. Background of pear. Caressing at the attack, then very fine and silky in the middle of the mouth, luminous, the wine rises between the middle and the finish where it ends long, complex and noble, with a brilliant taste. It is unstoppable. The confit is there in an extremely distinguished version. Very long and impressive.

Jean Marc Quarin

Temperature

Drinking window

2020 - 2060

Wine and food pairing

Milk-fed veal with morel sauce, Roast chicken, Turbo sauce hollandaise, Blue-veined cheese, Langoustines

Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Yquem 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Sauternes

Château d'Yquem 2017

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

99 100

JAMES SUCKLING

96 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

96 100

DECANTER

18.5 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

La propriété

Plus qu’un vin, Château d’Yquem est un moment de grâce inoubliable pour l’âme et les sens.

L’histoire d’Yquem est entourée de mystère. Si la vigne y est cultivée depuis très longtemps, le château actuel est relativement récent. Au milieu du 15e siècle, le domaine appartient aux Ducs d’Aquitaine, puis à la Maison de France. Léon de Sauvage le rachète au trésor royal en 1711, et en devient alors l’unique propriétaire. Son arrière-petite-fille, Françoise-Joséphine de Sauvage d’Yquem, épouse Louis-Amédée de Lur Saluces en 1785, et Yquem demeure propriété de la famille jusqu’en 1999.

Depuis 1999, le groupe L.V.M.H (Moët Hennessy – Louis Vuitton) est l’actionnaire majoritaire de cet unique Premier Cru Supérieur classé en 1855 dont Pierre Lurton assure la gestion.

« Je n'appelle pas Yquem un vin, car ils existe des "vins" et Yquem est unique. Je préfère le terme nectar…. »

Frédéric Dard

Le vignoble

Château d’Yquem est un lieu extraordinaire, niché au cœur des collines de l’Appellation Sauternes, riche d’une centaine d’hectares de vignobles plantés sur une mosaïque de terroirs. Toutes les conditions y sont réunies pour faire mûrir un raisin d’exception et obtenir le plus noble des champignons, le Botrytis cinerea.

Grâce à un processus de sublimation, les raisins renferment des saveurs et des arômes uniques au monde. Le Château garde précieusement son secret de récolte sélective, orchestrée avec dévouement par des cueilleurs expérimentés, qui tiennent leur savoir-faire ancestral des générations qui les ont précédés. Par conséquent, seuls les meilleurs raisins, sublimés par le botrytis cinerea, sont cueillis, car c’est là la règle d’or d’Yquem : ne jamais chercher la simplification, ou de raccourcis et prendre le risque de tout perdre. C’est le prix à payer pour atteindre l’excellence.

Le Millésime

Le vin d’Yquem a une longue vie. Vingt, cinquante, cent ans et plus… Comme tous les grands vins, l’Yquem se transforme avec l’âge, libérant peu à peu des effluves et des arômes différents, souvent de plus en plus subtils. Sa couleur change avec les années, passant comme de l’aube au crépuscule, du jaune paille miroitant à l’or bruni, aux nuances ambrées, de l’acajou à l’ébène.

Un botrytis total, une concentration explosive qui exige, pour rester contenue dans les canons de l’Yquem, une conduite très spécifique de la trie.


Finalement 2017 est une très grande réussite, digne des plus grandes années en « 7 ».

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château d'Yquem
  • Vignoble Sauternes
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 2017
  • Classification 1er Cru Supérieur
  • Cépage 75% Sémillon
    25% Sauvignon
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool14°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Couleur brillante, jaune pâle. Nez très aromatique, fin, fruité, subtil et noble. Fond de poire. Caressant à l’attaque, puis très finement soyeux en milieu de bouche, lumineux, le vin s’élève entre le milieu et la finale où il s’achève long, complexe et noble, avec un goût éclatant. C’est incrachable. Le confit est là dans une version extrêmement distinguée. Très grande longueur qui impressionne.

Jean Marc Quarin

Service

À déguster

2020 - 2060

Accords mets et vins

Veau de lait sauce aux morilles, Poulet rôti, Turbo sauce hollandaise, Fromage à pâte persillée, Langoustines