Château d'Issan 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Issan 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Margaux

Château d'Issan 2014

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

94 100

DECANTER

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

17 20

JAMES SUCKLING

90 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

The Estate

Château d’Issan is in the middle of the Margaux appellation, a truly privileged location, which explains the outstanding quality of its wines. The mild weather, regulated by being close to the sea and the Gironde Estuary, provides ideal conditions for vine growth. Château d’Issan also represent a long family heritage and continued transmission. Today, the Cruse family who acquired the estate in 1945, are sharing this adventure since 2013 with the Lorenzetti family (who also own Châteaux Pédesclaux in Pauillac, Lilian Ladouys and Lafon-Rochet in St Estèphe).

Château d’Issan did not need the famous 1855 classification distinguishing it as a 3rd Grand Cru Classé to establish its reputation. This was already made back in the 12th century, when it was reported to have been served at the wedding of Eleanor of Aquitaine and Henri Plantagenet, future King of England on 18th May 1152.

The vineyard

The current castle was built in the XVIIth Century with a singular wall to surround the single vineyard. The « Clos d’Issan » built in 1644 represents more than 30 hectares of vines out of 52 hectares in total. The grape varieties are composed of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot and Malbec.

The Vintage

The Chateau d’Issan 2014 has a beautiful dark and intense color, and reveals blackcurrant, blueberries aromas.

An elegant, fresh start to the palate, and soft tannins. Great length. Chateau d’Issan 2014 vintage cannot be compared with any other one but is clearly identifiable to its original terroir.

Information

  • Domain Château d'Issan
  • Vineyard Médoc
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2014
  • Classification 3e Cru Classé
  • Variety 77% Cabernet Sauvignon
    23% Merlot
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The wine has a black fruity bouquet, accompanied by a remarkable freshness. On the palate, the balance is solid, with sophisticated tannins and a creamy texture of silky elegance. The finish, marked by fruit, leaves a typical Cabernet freshness impression.

Temperature

16°

Drinking window

2024-2049

Wine and food pairing

Château d'Issan 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château d'Issan 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Margaux

Château d'Issan 2014

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

94 100

DECANTER

93 100

JAMES SUCKLING

17 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

90 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

La propriété

Situé au cœur de l’appellation de Margaux, le Château d’Issan bénéficie d’une situation géographique privilégiée qui explique la qualité exceptionnelle de ses vins. Le climat tempéré, régulé par la proximité de l’océan et de l’estuaire, offre aux vignobles des conditions idéales de développement. Issan c’est aussi une transmission familiale depuis 1945 de la famille Bordelaise Cruse ainsi que la famille Lorenzetti qui a rejoint l’aventure depuis 2013 (également propriétaire du Château Pédesclaux à Pauillac, Lilian Ladouys et Lafon-Rochet à Saint-Estèphe).

Le Château d’Issan n’a pas attendu le célèbre classement de 1855 pour se distinguer en tant que 3e Grand Cru Classé. La réputation de son vin remonterait à la fin du XIIe siècle puisqu’il aurait été servi aux noces d’Aliénor d’Aquitaine avec Henri Plantagenêt, futur Roi d’Angleterre, le 18 mai 1152.

Le vignoble

Le château actuel fut construit au XVIIème avec comme vestige un mur d’enceinte qui souligne le cœur du vignoble historique en formant le Clos de plus de 30 hectares. Aujourd’hui la propriété est composée de 52 hectares. On y retrouve le cépage du Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot mais aussi du Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot et Malbec.

Le Millésime

Château d’Issan 2014 se révèle par sa très belle couleur sombre et intense.

Bel éclat de fruits de noirs. Frais, souple tannins élégants, Bonne longueur.

Le millésime 2014 du Château n’est comparable à aucun autre mais entièrement identifiable à son terroir d’origine.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château d'Issan
  • Vignoble Médoc
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2014
  • Classification 3e Cru Classé
  • Cépage 77% Cabernet Sauvignon
    23% Merlot
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Le vin présente un bouquet aromatique fruité noir, accompagné d’une fraîcheur remarquable. En bouche, l’équilibre est solide, avec des tanins sophistiqués et une texture crémeuse d’une élégance soyeuse. La finale, marquée par le fruit, laisse une impression de fraîcheur typique du cépage Cabernet.

Service

16°

À déguster

2024-2049

Accords mets et vins