Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Sauternes

Château de Fargues 1996

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

94 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

The estate

Since the end of the 18th century, the Lur Saluces have been committed to producing wines that delight the palate of lovers of this golden nectar, Sauternes. An attention that has been passed down from generation to generation since 1472 and which today allows the descendants of the family to open the Château de Fargues to amateurs from all over the world. From the top of a bastion, the first look at the imposing silhouette of the fortress which stands at the end of an alley of umbrella pines, despite the onslaught of time and history, gives an idea of the stubbornness and the abnegation of the Lur Saluces producing exceptional wines. Acclaimed by great wine lovers, Sauternes leaves an unforgettable memory. From the birth of Sauternes wine, the Lur Saluces have made no concessions to produce a unique wine in the world, each vintage of which is a challenge, a bet on nature.

“At Château de Fargues, nature and man come together to produce grapes with a wide aromatic palette sensitive to the capricious effects of Botrytis Cinerea, more commonly known as “noble rot”. This microscopic mushroom will multiply the aromas specific to the two grape varieties, revealing in passing the particularities of the terroir. This alchemy, this true complicity happens to be at the origin of Sauternes, a rare and precious wine, here a "Sauternes signed Fargues"... an invitation to a unique pleasure, a delicious delicacy, a moment of sharing, a moment of celebration . » Alexandre de Lur Saluces, owner of Château de Fargues. Alexandre de Lur Saluces, owner

The vineyard

hâteau de Fargues is a unique wine estate located in the prestigious Sauternes appellation which is known for its sweet white wine. This estate has belonged to the Lur Saluces family since 1472, a unique example of continuity and longevity of heritage. The history of this family is intimately linked to that of the region and its wine. The Château de Fargues produces a very appreciated Sauternes. The magic of this appellation lies in the observation of Botrytis Cinerea, a microscopic fungus better known as “noble rot”. When it appears in autumn, the juice in the grape is transformed, it loses its volume to acquire flavors of candied fruits and aromas of flowers. The vineyard (22 ha) is planted with two grape varieties: Semillon (80% of the surface) which brings fatness, roundness and ample structure to the wine and Sauvignon Blanc (20% of the surface) cultivated for its aromatic side and its great freshness. In Fargues, quantity is not the goal. It is indeed the quality, vineyard of Fargues seeks to capture and bottle the exceptional aromatic palette of its wine. All efforts are aimed at the single label, the single wine, which has made the reputation of the estate. The property does not want to present any imperfect vintage which implies not to sign the wine of the vintages in 1972, 1974, 1992 and 2012.

“Oh! This wine, this color… drunken light (...) which dazzles your mouth” Frédéric Dard

The vintage

CHÂTEAU DE FARGUES : AN AUTHENTIC AND RARE WINE

With centuries of experience, the Lur Saluces family today produces one of the greatest wines of the appellation.


The requirement, the search for excellence are the engines of the family whose motto is: “Noch” meaning “always further in the search for quality, elegance, without compromise”.


Respect for this motto takes shape in the relationship of Château de Fargues to nature, the vine and wine.
Thus the property does not produce a second wine to concentrate on the only label of the castle. On the other hand, vintages of insufficient quality from the property are not bottled, such as 1972, 1974, 1992 and 2012.

VINTAGE 1996

All these factors contributed to the production of a great sweet wine that is both classical and elegant.

WEATHER DURING THE GROWING SEASON

Bud break was very early. The dry, cool spring led to flowering at the beginning of June. July was hot and sunny while August was hot and stormy and the grapes were fully ripe in the first ten days of September. A small crop was harvested to make "Guilhem de Fargues" dry white. Then two weeks of rainy weather helped the onset of botrytis.

HARVEST

The first wave of picking started on September 30th. There was beautiful weather in October with misty mornings and sunny afternoons. Picking continued un- til October 14th. A few light rain showers ensured fur- ther growth of noble rot.

The pickers went through the vineyards twice more before the harvest ended on October 24th. The favour- able weather conditions encouraged regular develop- ment of botrytis and concentrated the grapes beautiful- ly.

Information

  • Domain Château de Fargues
  • Vineyard Sauternes
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 1996
  • Variety 80% Sémillon , 20% Sauvignon
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees14°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

A beautifully brilliant colour. At first the bouquet is rather discreet - a sign of youth - but then the freshness and elegance of the vintage comes through. Acacia, broom and candied lemon aromas lead into a rich, botrytized bouquet with toasty overtones. On the palate, this wine is round, full, and well-balanced. The richness comes to the fore and the sweetness enhances the impression of elegance. The candied fruit (lemon) and quince jelly provide a refreshing prelude to the toasty, slightly spicy flavour. A perfect balance between power and elegance. A lovely, aromatic aftertaste. A classic Sauternes with great ageing potential.

Temperature

11°

Drinking window

2025-2040

Wine and food pairing

This Sauternes wine is ideal with oysters, white meats in sauce or creamy.

Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
Château de Fargues  1996 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Sauternes

Château de Fargues 1996

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

94 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

La propriété

Depuis la fin du 18ème siècle, les Lur Saluces s’attachent à produire des vins qui réjouissent le palais des amateurs de ce nectar d’or, le Sauternes. Une attention qui se transmet de génération en génération depuis 1472 et qui permet aujourd’hui aux descendants de la famille d’ouvrir le Château de Fargues aux amateurs du monde entier. Du haut d’un bastion, le premier regard sur la silhouette imposante de la forteresse qui se dresse au bout d’une allée de pins parasols, malgré les assauts du temps et de l’histoire, donne une idée de l’obstination et de l’abnégation des Lur Saluces produisant des vins d’exception. Plébiscité́ par les grands amateurs de vins, le Sauternes laisse un souvenir impérissable. Dès la naissance du vin de Sauternes, les Lur Saluces n’ont admis aucune concession pour produire un vin unique au monde dont chaque millésime est une gageure, un pari sur la nature.

« Au Château de Fargues, la nature et les hommes s’entendent pour produire un raisin d’une grande palette aromatique sensible aux effets capricieux du Botrytis Cinerea plus couramment connu sous le nom de « pourriture noble ». Ce champignon microscopique va démultiplier les arômes propres aux deux cépages, révélant au passage les particularités du terroir. Cette alchimie, cette véritable complicité se trouve être à l’origine du Sauternes, un vin rare et précieux, ici un « Sauternes signé Fargues » … une invitation à un plaisir unique, une délicieuse gourmandise, un moment de partage, un instant de célébration. » Alexandre de Lur Saluces, propriétaire du Château de Fargues

Le vignoble

Le Château de Fargues est situé dans la prestigieuse appellation « Sauternes » connue pour son vin blanc liquoreux unique. Ce domaine appartient à la famille Lur Saluces depuis 1472, exemple unique de continuité et de longévité patrimoniale. L’histoire de cette famille est intimement liée à celle de la région et de son vin. Le Château de Fargues produit un Sauternes très apprécié. La magie de cette appellation réside dans l’observation du Botrytis Cinerea , un champignon microscopique plus connu sous le nom de « pourriture noble » .Lorsqu’il apparait à l’automne, le jus dans le raisin se transforme, il perd de son volume pour acquérir des saveurs de fruits confits et d’arômes de fleurs. Le vignoble de 22 ha est complanté de deux cépages : le sémillon (80% de la surface) qui apporte le gras, la rondeur et la structure ample au vin et le sauvignon blanc (20% de la surface) cultivé pour son coté aromatique et sa grande fraîcheur. À Fargues, la quantité n’est donc pas l’objectif. C’est bien la qualité que le vignoble de Fargues cherche à saisir et à mettre en bouteille l’exceptionnelle palette aromatique de son vin. Tous les efforts visent l’unique étiquette, le seul vin, qui a fait la notoriété du domaine. La propriété ne veut présenter aucun millésime imparfait ce qui implique de ne pas signer le vin des millésimes en 1972, 1974, 1992 et 2012.

« Ah! Ce vin, cette couleur… de la lumière bue (...) qui éblouit votre bouche » Frédéric Dard

Le Millésime

CHATEAU DE FARGUES : UN VIN AUTHENTIQUE ET RARE

Avec une expérience de plusieurs siècles, la famille Lur Saluces produit aujourd’hui un des plus grands vins de l’appellation.

L’exigence, la recherche de l’excellence sont les moteurs de la famille dont la devise est : «Noch » signifiant « toujours plus loin dans la recherche de la qualité, de l’élégance, sans compromission ».

Le respect de cette devise prend forme dans le rapport du Château de Fargues à la nature, à la vigne et au vin.

Ainsi la propriété ne produit pas de second vin pour se concentrer sur la seule étiquette du château. D’autre part, les millésimes pas assez qualitatifs de la propriété ne sont pas embouteillés, comme le 1972, le 1974, le 1992 et le 2012

LE MILLESIME 1996

Tout concourt à la production d'un grand vin liquoreux, à la fois classique et raffiné.

CONDITIONS CLIMATIQUES DE LA VIGNE :

Le débourrement est très précoce. Le printemps sec mais frais conduit à une floraison début juin. Juillet beau et chaud, août chaud et orageux amènent les raisins à pleine maturité en première décade de septembre. Une petite récolte en sec pour le "Guilhem de Fargues" est réalisée. Ensuite une quinzaine pluvieuse favorise la contamination de botrytis.

LES VENDANGES :

La 1° trie est déclenchée le 30 septembre. Le joli mois d'octobre s'installe avec brumes matinales et après- midis ensoleillées. Les tries peuvent s'enchainer sans discontinuer jusqu'au 14. Quelques pluies fines vont alors réactiver la pourriture noble. La récolte peut re- partir pour deux autres tries et s'achever le 24 octobre. Ces conditions climatiques idéales ont favorisé un développement régulier du botrytis et une belle et élégante concentration.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château de Fargues
  • Vignoble Sauternes
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 1996
  • Cépage 80% Sémillon
    20% Sauvignon
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool14°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Robe La robe dévoile une belle teinte dorée orangée, parée de reflets cuivrés.

Nez Frais et élégant, le nez exhale des fragrances d’acacia, de genêts, de citron confit mais également d’orange soutenues par une subtile pointe d’épice (cannelle).

Bouche Vive et crémeuse, la bouche séduit par sa richesse aromatique. Citron, pâte de coing, abricot sont autant d’arômes se mêlant harmonieusement à des notes d’amandes grillées ou encore de canelle.

Tout au long de la dégustation, le palais marque par son équilibre, sa fraîcheur ainsi que sa subtile amertume.

Service

11°

À déguster

2025-2040

Accords mets et vins

Ce vin de Sauternes s’accorde idéalement avec des huîtres, des viandes blanches en sauce ou crémées.