Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Emilion

Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

90-91 100

JAMES SUCKLING

88 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

17 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

The estate

The De Boüard de Laforest family has presided over the property since 1782. Carried to the highest rank by Hubert de Boüard, who headed the wine estate for over 30 years, Angelus is today managed by his daughter Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal, the third woman to have run the property in nearly 250 years. Taking great inspiration from the previous generations and with huge respect for the heritage that has been entrusted to her, and the great tradition to which she has fully committed, the young CEO has injected fresh impetus into the estate in order to enhance further the terroir expression of its wines and ensure a sustainable future for the family wine estate. Set in a natural amphitheatre, in which sounds are amplified, Angelus (today run by Stéphanie de Boüard) takes its name from a small plot of very old vines, from which the ringing of the angelus at the three local churches could be heard simultaneously. Over centuries, in the morning, at noon and in the evening, this ringing and the prayers to which it called worshipers, set a rhythm to each day’s work in the vines and fields. The bell on the label of the Château Angelus bottle pays homage to the origin of the name and to those moments of contemplation in the fields.

The vineyard

Angelus began life as an exceptionally well-situated vineyard close to the gates of the Saint-Emilion village, located specifically on the famous south-facing “pied de côte” (foot of the slope). Over the generations, the passion and determination of the De Boüard de Laforest family wrote the history of the estate, forging its destiny and fulfilling its potential. Covering 85 hectares in all, the property has 55 hectares in Saint-Emilion, of which 30 make up the historical core of the estate. Angelus is today one of the largest vineyards in the Saint-Emilion appellation. Acknowledged worldwide as one of the flagships of Bordeaux, Château Angelus conveys all the commitment and attachment of a family and team whose goal is excellence, to heighten the fundamental nature of a terroir. The Angelus signature is the alliance between an audacious grape variety and an outstanding terroir. It is that unique character that comes from the south-facing slope of Saint Emilion and the high proportion of Cabernet Franc that is always a joy to find in each vintage, year after year, with its richness, density, unctuosity, elegance, pedigree, purity and freshness. All these special characteristics contribute to the Angelus style : lush, dense and creamy because of the early onset of growth thanks to its “terroir”, but also elegant, classy and pure with lots of freshness thanks to the large proportion of Cabernet Franc (46% of the vines), and to the perfectly balanced distribution of limestone and clay in its soils.

The vintage

Carillon d'Angélus, the second wine of Château Angelus, was born with the 1987 vintage. Over the years, it has acquired its own identity. Reflecting the high standards of the estate's teams, it is made from a variable percentage of Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon selected from different terroirs of Saint Emilion. The vinification and ageing are precisely adapted to its style. It is appreciated for the purity of its fruit aromas, its velvety tannins and its elegant finish.

The 2012 vintage had a tough start with a chaotic spring. Fortunately, July and August were perfect for good grape development.

2012 was an important year for Angelus: it won the status of Premier Grand Cru Classé “A”, and a member of the eighth generation of our family joined the estate’s Directorate, while 2012 was also the 230th anniversary of the Boüard de Laforest’s arrival in Saint-Emilion. The year also saw extension and improvement work done on the estate on a hitherto unequalled scale.

Information

  • Domain Château Angélus
  • Vineyard Saint-Emilion
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2012
  • Classification 2e vin
  • Variety 50% Merlot
    25% Cabernet Sauvignon
    25% Cabernet Franc
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The wine displays a lovely purple robe with ruby tints.

The purity and intensity of the aromas are amazing. Red fruit with a pleasant slight smokiness from the barrel.

Smooth on the attack, both precise and generous on the mid-palate, the finish recalls the freshness of the fruit.

Temperature

15°

Drinking window

2027

Wine and food pairing

confit of lamb, chicken supremes with truffle butter, Lamprey Bordeaux style, Saint Félicien

Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Emilion

Le Carillon d'Angélus 2012

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

90-91 100

JAMES SUCKLING

88 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

17 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

La propriété

La famille de Boüard de Laforest préside aux destinées du domaine depuis 1782. Porté au sommet par Hubert de Boüard, qui pilota le domaine pendant plus de 30 ans, Angelus est à présent dirigé par sa fille, Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal, représentant la troisième femme à le diriger. Particulièrement inspirée par ses aïeules, dans le plus grand respect pour l’héritage qui lui a été confié et la grande tradition dans laquelle elle s’inscrit, la jeune dirigeante insuffle une nouvelle dynamique pour porter encore plus haut l’expression du terroir et inscrire durablement la propriété familiale dans l’avenir. Au cœur d’un amphithéâtre naturel où les sons s’amplifient, la propriété aujourd’hui dirigée par Stéphanie de Boüard, doit son nom à un lopin de vignes très anciennes d’où l’on pouvait entendre simultanément les trois églises du pays sonner l’angélus. Pendant des siècles, matin, midi et soir, ce son et la prière à laquelle il invitait ont ponctué les journées de travail aux vignes et aux champs. La cloche que l’on retrouve sur l’étiquette de la bouteille de Château Angelus est un hommage à cette origine et à ces moments de recueillement paysans.

Le vignoble

Au commencement d’Angelus, un vignoble exceptionnellement situé, aux portes du village de Saint-Emilion, sur le fameux « pied de côte » exposé plein sud. Puis, au fil des générations, la passion et la détermination de la famille de Boüard de Laforest ont écrit l’histoire et lui ont bâti un destin à sa pleine mesure. Domaine de 85 ha dont 55 à Saint-Emilion et 30 ha qui constituent le cœur historique de la propriété, Angelus est aujourd’hui un des plus importants vignobles de l’appellation Saint-Emilion. À Angelus, le vignoble se situe dans un amphithéâtre naturel, sur la côte et le pied de côte sud de Saint-Émilion, qui concentre les températures chaudes l’été et augmente la précocité. Le sol est naturellement drainé par la pente. La bonne répartition entre calcaire et argile (entre 8 et 20%) permet une alimentation régulière en eau et en minéraux. Les porte-greffes sont idéalement adaptés au terroir et les cépages répartis en fonction des sols : Merlots sur la côte (plus argileuse) et Cabernets Francs sur les sols argilo-calcaires du pied de côte. Toutes ces particularités contribuent au style d’Angelus : opulent, dense, onctueux, de par la précocité de son terroir, mais aussi élégant, racé, pur avec beaucoup de fraîcheur, grâce à la forte proportion de Cabernet Franc (46 % de l’encépagement) et à la composition parfaitement équilibrée calcaire/argile de ses sols.Nos terroirs sont le fruit du parfait équilibre entre le climat, les sols, les réserves en eau, la vigne et les personnes qui la travaillent. Maintenir cet équilibre, pérenniser le vignoble et son environnement, optimiser les ressources et favoriser la biodiversité est notre quotidien. De cette préoccupation environnementale est né notre engagement vers une agriculture vertueuse et responsable.

« La maîtrise de l’impact environnemental est un choix de vie, pour les familles, l’équipe, mais aussi pour les générations de vignerons à venir. Ce n’est pas une simple posture. Angelus doit être garant d’un avenir sûr et responsable. »

Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal

Le Millésime

Carillon d’Angélus, second vin du Château Angelus, est né avec le millésime 1987. Au fil des années, il a acquis sa propre identité. Reflet du niveau d’exigence des équipes du domaine, il est issu d’un pourcentage variable de merlot, cabernet franc et cabernet sauvignon sélectionnés sur différents terroirs de Saint Emilion. Les vinifications et l’élevage sont précisément adaptés à son style. Il est apprécié pour la pureté de ses arômes de fruit, pour ses tannins veloutés et sa finale élégante.

Le millésime 2012 a connu des débuts difficiles avec un printemps chaotique. Heureusement, les mois de juillet et août ont été parfaits pour la bonne constitution des raisins.

L’année 2012 marque à jamais des évènements majeurs : l’accession d’Angelus au rang de Premier Grand Cru Classé « A », l’arrivée de la huitième génération au sein du Directoire, le 230ème anniversaire de l’arrivée de la famille de Boüard de Laforest à Saint Emilion, et des travaux d’agrandissement et d’embellissement de la propriété d’une envergure sans précédent.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château Angélus
  • Vignoble Saint Emilion
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2012
  • Classification 2e vin
  • Cépage 50% Merlot
    25% Cabernet Sauvignon
    25% Cabernet Franc
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Le vin se présente avec une belle robe pourpre aux reflets rubis.

L'intensité et la pureté aromatique sont remarquables. On retrouve des fruits rouges, agrémentés d'un léger fumé apporté par la barrique.

En bouche, l'attaque est suave ; le milieu de bouche est à la fois précis et généreux, la finale rappelle la fraîcheur des fruits.

Service

15°

À déguster

2027

Accords mets et vins

Pintade vigneronne, souris d'agneau confite, Suprêmes de volaille au beurre de truffe, Lamproie à la bordelaise, Saint Félicien