Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Emilion

Château Angélus 2014

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

95 100

DECANTER

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

95 100

WINE SPECTATOR

The estate

The De Boüard de Laforest family has presided over the property since 1782. Carried to the highest rank by Hubert de Boüard, who headed the wine estate for over 30 years, Angelus is today managed by his daughter Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal, the third woman to have run the property in nearly 250 years. Taking great inspiration from the previous generations and with huge respect for the heritage that has been entrusted to her, and the great tradition to which she has fully committed, the young CEO has injected fresh impetus into the estate in order to enhance further the terroir expression of its wines and ensure a sustainable future for the family wine estate. Set in a natural amphitheatre, in which sounds are amplified, Angelus (today run by Stéphanie de Boüard) takes its name from a small plot of very old vines, from which the ringing of the angelus at the three local churches could be heard simultaneously. Over centuries, in the morning, at noon and in the evening, this ringing and the prayers to which it called worshipers, set a rhythm to each day’s work in the vines and fields. The bell on the label of the Château Angelus bottle pays homage to the origin of the name and to those moments of contemplation in the fields.

the vineyard

Angelus began life as an exceptionally well-situated vineyard close to the gates of the Saint-Emilion village, located specifically on the famous south-facing “pied de côte” (foot of the slope). Over the generations, the passion and determination of the De Boüard de Laforest family wrote the history of the estate, forging its destiny and fulfilling its potential. Covering 85 hectares in all, the property has 55 hectares in Saint-Emilion, of which 30 make up the historical core of the estate. Angelus is today one of the largest vineyards in the Saint-Emilion appellation. Acknowledged worldwide as one of the flagships of Bordeaux, Château Angelus conveys all the commitment and attachment of a family and team whose goal is excellence, to heighten the fundamental nature of a terroir. The Angelus signature is the alliance between an audacious grape variety and an outstanding terroir. It is that unique character that comes from the south-facing slope of Saint Emilion and the high proportion of Cabernet Franc that is always a joy to find in each vintage, year after year, with its richness, density, unctuosity, elegance, pedigree, purity and freshness. All these special characteristics contribute to the Angelus style : lush, dense and creamy because of the early onset of growth thanks to its “terroir”, but also elegant, classy and pure with lots of freshness thanks to the large proportion of Cabernet Franc (46% of the vines), and to the perfectly balanced distribution of limestone and clay in its soils.

The vintage

The Angélus signature is the marriage of a bold grape variety with an exceptional terroir. It is this unique character, born of the southern slopes of Saint-Emilion and its high proportion of Cabernet Franc, that we like to find over the years: richness, density, smoothness, elegance, breed, purity and freshness.

2014 vintage , nicknamed "L’Indien" is the 30th vintage made by Hubert de Boüard de Laforest, who describes it in this way:
This vintage didn't have much promise, although flowering had gone well.
Spring had been tricky, summer was hard, we had nothing but doubts except the fierce resolution that we would not give up and that we had to read the vines and understand their needs. We were continuously worried that the fruit would not be able to overcome the August rainfall and the September storms. Then from 30th August onwards, day after day of lovely weather and our confidence returned. We took risks and waited to start harvesting. Every day, we asked:
Do we start picking? No, we wait!
Finally, we picked the first Merlot grapes from the young vines on 2nd October, a golden month, warm and magnificent. The weather was so good, we delayed harvesting the old Merlot vines for a few days and waited for the Cabernet Franc grapes to ripen fully. This is how fickle calendars can be. A situation I had never seen before in my whole career as a winegrower! An ideal autumn for harvesting that just went on and on.
Who's the Indian? Nobody, but the summer was...

Information

  • Domain Château Angélus
  • Vineyard Saint-Emilion
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2014
  • Classification 1er grand cru classé A
  • Variety 50 % Merlot
    50 % Cabernet Franc
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

This vintage has a very pure, elegant nose. The attack is clear, and the wine progressively gets bigger, reaching a very sophisticated balance between the magnificent quality of the tannins, substance, tension and freshness. There is 50% Cabernet Franc in the blend, which elevates the elegance of the wine’s tannic structure and makes the finish complex and long.

Temperature

17°

Drinking window

2034-2044

Wine and food pairing

Woodcock purée with Bazadaise sauce, roast duck with porcini mushrooms, pheasant terrine, truffled Brie cheese, old Chavignol cheese

Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
Château Angélus 2014 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bordeaux – Saint-Emilion

Château Angélus 2014

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

95 100

DECANTER

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

95 100

WINE SPECTATOR

La propriété

La famille de Boüard de Laforest préside aux destinées du domaine depuis 1782. Porté au sommet par Hubert de Boüard, qui pilota le domaine pendant plus de 30 ans, Angelus est à présent dirigé par sa fille, Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal, représentant la troisième femme à le diriger. Particulièrement inspirée par ses aïeules, dans le plus grand respect pour l’héritage qui lui a été confié et la grande tradition dans laquelle elle s’inscrit, la jeune dirigeante insuffle une nouvelle dynamique pour porter encore plus haut l’expression du terroir et inscrire durablement la propriété familiale dans l’avenir. Au cœur d’un amphithéâtre naturel où les sons s’amplifient, la propriété aujourd’hui dirigée par Stéphanie de Boüard, doit son nom à un lopin de vignes très anciennes d’où l’on pouvait entendre simultanément les trois églises du pays sonner l’angélus. Pendant des siècles, matin, midi et soir, ce son et la prière à laquelle il invitait ont ponctué les journées de travail aux vignes et aux champs. La cloche que l’on retrouve sur l’étiquette de la bouteille de Château Angelus est un hommage à cette origine et à ces moments de recueillement paysans.

Le vignoble

Au commencement d’Angelus, un vignoble exceptionnellement situé, aux portes du village de Saint-Emilion, sur le fameux « pied de côte » exposé plein sud. Puis, au fil des générations, la passion et la détermination de la famille de Boüard de Laforest ont écrit l’histoire et lui ont bâti un destin à sa pleine mesure. Domaine de 85 ha dont 55 à Saint-Emilion et 30 ha qui constituent le cœur historique de la propriété, Angelus est aujourd’hui un des plus importants vignobles de l’appellation Saint-Emilion. À Angelus, le vignoble se situe dans un amphithéâtre naturel, sur la côte et le pied de côte sud de Saint-Émilion, qui concentre les températures chaudes l’été et augmente la précocité. Le sol est naturellement drainé par la pente. La bonne répartition entre calcaire et argile (entre 8 et 20%) permet une alimentation régulière en eau et en minéraux. Les porte-greffes sont idéalement adaptés au terroir et les cépages répartis en fonction des sols : Merlots sur la côte (plus argileuse) et Cabernets Francs sur les sols argilo-calcaires du pied de côte. Toutes ces particularités contribuent au style d’Angelus : opulent, dense, onctueux, de par la précocité de son terroir, mais aussi élégant, racé, pur avec beaucoup de fraîcheur, grâce à la forte proportion de Cabernet Franc (46 % de l’encépagement) et à la composition parfaitement équilibrée calcaire/argile de ses sols.Nos terroirs sont le fruit du parfait équilibre entre le climat, les sols, les réserves en eau, la vigne et les personnes qui la travaillent. Maintenir cet équilibre, pérenniser le vignoble et son environnement, optimiser les ressources et favoriser la biodiversité est notre quotidien. De cette préoccupation environnementale est né notre engagement vers une agriculture vertueuse et responsable.

« La maîtrise de l’impact environnemental est un choix de vie, pour les familles, l’équipe, mais aussi pour les générations de vignerons à venir. Ce n’est pas une simple posture. Angelus doit être garant d’un avenir sûr et responsable. »

Stéphanie de Boüard-Rivoal

Le Millésime

La signature Angélus est le mariage d’un encépagement audacieux avec un terroir d’exception. C’est ce caractère unique né de la côte Sud de Saint-Emilion et de sa forte proportion de cabernets francs que l’on se plait à retrouver au fil des millésimes : richesse, densité, onctuosité, élégance, race, pureté et fraîcheur.

LE MILLESIME 2014 : L'INDIEN

L’Indien, est le trentième millésime d’Hubert de Boüard de Laforest.
Il ne s’annonçait pas particulièrement bien, ce millésime, malgré une bonne floraison.
Ce grand millésime commence par un printemps compliqué, un été difficile, rempli de doutes, mais une volonté farouche de ne pas renoncer et d’être à l’écoute du vignoble, attentif à ses besoins. Une inquiétude permanente, et forte sur la capacité des raisins à résister à la pluviométrie d’août et aux orages de septembre. Puis, dès le 25 août, jour après jour, le beau temps s’installe et la confiance revient. Des risques sont pris pour attendre la vendange. Enfin, octobre est là, doré, chaud, magnifique. Il permet de repousser de quelques jours les vendanges des vieux Merlots et d’attendre encore la pleine maturité des Cabernets Francs.
On ramasse ? Non, on attend !
Enfin, le 2 octobre, les premiers merlots sont ramassés sur les vignes jeunes ; octobre est là, doré, chaud, magnifique. Il nous permet de repousser de quelques jours les vendanges des vieux merlots et d’attendre encore la pleine maturité des cabernets francs. C’est comme ça, le hasard des calendriers. Une situation unique dans ma vie de vigneron ! Un beau rendez-vous, un rendez-vous d’automne qui n’en finit pas.
Un été indien, insolent !

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Château Angélus
  • Vignoble Saint-Emilion
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2014
  • Classification 1er grand cru classé A
  • Cépage 50 % Merlot
    50 % Cabernet Franc
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Le nez est très pur, élégant. L’attaque est précise, la structure monte peu à peu en puissance, atteignant un équilibre très raffiné entre la magnifique qualité des tannins, la chair, la tension et la fraîcheur. Les 50 % de cabernet-franc de l’assemblage subliment l’élégance de la trame tannique et donnent à la finale complexité et persistance.

Service

17°

À déguster

2034-2044

Accords mets et vins

Purée de bécasse à la bazadaise, canard rôti aux cèpes, terrine de faisan, brie truffé, vieux Chavignol, Galet boisé