Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
France

Champagne – Champagne

Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

97 100

DECANTER

The Estate

A Champagne heir driven by a spirit of conquest and a taste for a challenge, Charles Heidsieck was a gentleman-entrepreneur who was very comfortable amongst the daring atmosphere of the 19th century. The founder of his own House at the age of 29, he wanted to build it in his own image: distinguished and distinguished from others.

Charles Camille-Heidsieck was the first owner of a Champagne House to visit the United States in 1852, travelling there to establish his House and win renown for his champagnes. He would make the journey 4 times over the course of 10 years and single-handedly made a huge impact on developing the American market. His ambition was visionary, in an era where most Houses were established in Europe for logistical and commercial reasons and were more focused on the royal courts than on the burgeoning bourgeoisie of America. Charles Heidsieck became a key figure there: Champagne Charlie.

The authenticity and principles of this man have inspired since 1851 the unique quality of his Champagnes, stored in thousand-year-old Crayères, or chalk cellars. Five generations have succeeded at the helm of the House, championing that early vision of an exceptional quality, unique champagne. The takeover in 2011 by Christopher Descours and the EPI group has opened the door to a new and international ambition. For further information, visit charlesheidsieck.com or our social media channels.

The vineyard

Charles Heidsieck is BCorp certified.

The certification recognizes Charles Heidsieck as a company that meets high standards of social and environmental performance, accountability and transparency.

― HVE since 2015 (high environmental value certifcation)

― All the House’s vines are covered with grass protecting the life of the soils

― No herbicides and pesticides

― Sexual confusion to protect vineyards from butterflies larvae

― Installation of beehives to perserve biodiversity

― Use of wooden stakes (instead of metal)

― Only green bottles (recyclable and less energy consuming)

― Sugar for the dosage sourced from Champagne beetroot to preserve the essence of the wine (neutral sweetness)

The wine

THE SPIRIT OF CHARLES, THE CHARACTER OF A GENTLEMAN

A gentleman-entrepreneur in the daring 19th century, Charles Heidsieck was a Champagne heir with an immoderate taste for challenge. At the age of 29, he decided to found a House in his own image: authentic, distinguished and absolutely different from the others. True to this spirit, his grandson Charles-Marcel created the first Blanc de Blancs in 1949, confirming the style of a House that is available in all grape varieties.


THE ALLIANCE OF OPPOSITES


The Blanc de Blancs Charles Heidsieck is a wine whose particular substance resists the classic oenological description. It is a wine that appeals to all the senses, especially the sense of touch. Through this cuvée, two of the House's skills come together: the art of making great white wines and the art of blending a large selection of Chardonnay wines from different years and terroirs.

Information

  • Domain Charles Heidsieck
  • Vineyard Champagne
  • Color
    White
  • Variety 100% Chardonnay
  • Alcohol degrees12°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

EYE: pale, crystalline gold with the typical glints of the Chardonnay varietal.

NOSE: the aromas of mature Chardonnay can be recognised initially: white peach, candied citrus with notes of lime, honeysuckle and fresh hazelnut, giving way to subtle hints of tangerine and lemon.

PALATE: freshness and tautness mark this typically Charles generosity: the attack is pure and forthright, not aggressive with a surprising suavity for a Blanc de Blancs and emblematic of the maturation of wines in two thousand-year-old chalk cellars.

Temperature

10°

Drinking window

2025 - 2030

Wine and food pairing

The Chardonnays of this Blanc de Blancs express themselves in a frank attack and a well-balanced finish that surprises with its minerality. This saline character and elegant tension will be perfectly enhanced with seafood or soft cheeses that will contrast with its vivacity.

Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs The Wine Gate Shop
France

Champagne – Champagne

Charles Heidsieck Blanc de Blancs

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

93 100

WINE SPECTATOR

97 100

DECANTER

La propriété

Héritier champenois porté par un esprit de conquête et un goût certain du défi, Charles Heidsieck fut un gentleman-entrepreneur très à l’aise dans ce 19e siècle qui osait tout. Fondateur, à l’âge de 29 ans, de sa propre Maison, il la voulut à son image : distinguée et se distinguant des autres.

Charles Camille-Heidsieck est le premier propriétaire de Maison de Champagne à se rendre aux Etats-Unis dès 1852 pour y installer durablement sa Maison et y faire connaître ses champagnes. Il s’y rend 4 fois en 10 ans et développe considérablement à lui seul le marché américain. Il s’agit d’une ambition très visionnaire à une époque où la plupart des Maisons s’établissent en Europe pour des raisons logistiques et commerciales et sont davantage portées sur les cours royales que sur la bourgeoisie détonante de l’Amérique. Charles Heidsieck y devient un personnage incontournable : Champagne Charlie.

L’authenticité et le sens du parti-pris de ce personnage inspirent depuis 1851 la signature unique de ses Champagnes conservés en crayères millénaires. Cinq générations se sont succédées à la tête de la Maison, portant haut la vision initiale d’un champagne singulier de qualité extrême. Sa reprise en 2011 par Christopher Descours et le groupe EPI lui a permis de repartir rapidement sur une ambition nouvelle et internationale.

Le vignoble

Charles Heidsieck est certifié BCorp.

La certification reconnaît Charles Heidsieck comme une entreprise qui répond à des normes élevées en matière de performances sociales et environnementales, de responsabilité et de transparence.

Une approche durable du vignoble a la bouteille :

- HVE depuis 2015 (certification haute valeur environnementale)

- Toutes les vignes de la Maison sont enherbées, protégeant ainsi la vie des sols

- Pas d'herbicides ni de pesticides

- Confusion sexuelle pour protéger les vignes des larves de papillons

- Installation de ruches pour préserver la biodiversité

- Utilisation de piquets en bois (plutôt qu'en métal)

- Bouteilles vertes uniquement (recyclables et moins consommatrices d'énergie)

- Sucre de dosage issu de la betterave champenoise pour préserver l'essence du vin (douceur neutre)

La Cuvée

L’ESPRIT DE CHARLES, LE CARACTÈRE DU GENTLEMAN

Gentleman-entrepreneur dans ce XIXème siècle qui osait tout, Charles Heidsieck était un héritier champenois porté par un goût immodéré du défi. Il décida donc de fonder, à l’âge de 29 ans, une Maison à son image : authentique, distinguée et se démarquant absolument des autres. Fidèle à cet esprit, son petit-fils Charles-Marcel crée le premier Blanc de Blancs 1949, confortant le style d’une Maison qui se décline sous tous les cépages.


DE L’ALLIANCE DES CONTRAIRES


Le Blanc de Blancs Charles Heidsieck est un vin dont la matière particulière résiste à la description oenologique classique. Un vin qui convoque tous les sens, et surtout le toucher. À travers cette cuvée, deux savoir-faire de la Maison se rencontrent : celui d’élaborer de grands vins blancs ainsi que l’art d’assembler une grande sélection de vins de Chardonnay issus d’années et de terroirs différents.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Charles Heidsieck
  • Vignoble Champagne
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Cépage 100% Chardonnay
  • Degrés d'alcool12°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

À L’OEIL : La première impression est un or pâle cristallin avec quelques reflets typiques du cépage Chardonnay.

AU NEZ : Les arômes de Chardonnay mûr s’échappent : pêche de vigne, agrumes confits, avec quelques notes de tilleul, de chèvrefeuille, de noisettes fraîches. Un deuxième nez porte sur des notes subtiles de mandarine et de citron.

EN BOUCHE : Fraîcheur et tension sont enrobées dans cette générosité ‘Typiquement Charles’ : l’attaque est franche, pure, sans agressivité avec une suavité surprenante pour un Blanc de Blancs et emblématique de la maturation en crayères millénaires.

Service

10°

À déguster

2025 - 2030

Accords mets et vins

Les chardonnays de ce Blanc de Blancs s’expriment dans une attaque franche et une finale équilibrée qui surprend par sa minéralité. Ce caractère salin et cette tension élégante seront parfaitement mis en valeur autour de produits de la mer ou de fromages moelleux qui trancheront avec sa vivacité.