Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Italy

Tuscany – Toscana

Caiarossa 2019

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

95 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

96 100

JAMES SUCKING

90 100

WINE SPECTATOR

The estate

Named a er the red color of its land, Caiarossa was born different, guided by the principles of biodynamic agriculture. Totally created from scratch in 1998, it is characterized by a unique diversity of soils. In 2004, Eric Albada Jelgersma decided to find an estate in that special part of Italy that is the Tuscan coast, to express the expertise he had acquired in Bordeaux, at Château Giscours. He fell in love with this beautiful small estate applying the principles of biodynamic agriculture, located at the heart of the Mediterranean macchia shrubland, on the western slope of a hill overlooking the sea. Today, his children Dennis, Derk and Valérie are following in their father’s footsteps and keep pursuing its quest for precision in the elaboration of fine wines.

The vineyard

Caiarossa has a unique diversity of soils, altitudes, and varietals. The estate is divided into 3 vineyards. The oldest one is Podere Serra All’Olio, surrounding the winery. It was planted in 1998 at 225 meters on clay and limestone. Next to the windy valley of Cecina, Podere Le Lame is at 163 meters. Our highest vineyard is Nocolino at 350 meters, with a direct exposure to the sea wind, cooler temperature, and rare marly and volcanic soil. In total, these 47 parcels of 10 different varietals compose this unique patchwork of terroirs. Caiarossa follows the principles of Biodynamic agriculture since its beginning. This philosophy requires full dedication to create a harmony between Nature and Human Being. One of the main objectives is increasing the vitality and resilience of the soil thanks to cover crops, biodynamic preparations and elaboration of our own compost.

At Caiarossa, we try to protect our ecosystem and live in connection with the rhythm of nature.

The vintage

The purest expression of thevineyards,Caiarossa shows all the complexity and the nobility of the land. The seven varieties in the blend weave together a perfect tapestry of the estate’s terroir.

A true expression of the luxury of nature.

The 2019 vintage will probably be remembered as one of the most homogeneous and qualitative of recent years. During the summer months, temperatures were average with cooler nights. There were 6 significative rains (3 in July and 3 in August) which avoided water stress and created the perfect conditions to start the ripening season. The harvest started a little later than usual: the first Merlot on 6 September, then in order, Syrah, Sangiovese, Grenache, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon, finishing with Petit Verdot. The weather conditions were excellent! Great care was taken to select and harvest each grape from each plot in its most harmonious balance of freshness and ripeness.

Information

  • Domain Caiarossa
  • Vineyard Podere Serra all’Olio
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2019
  • Variety Cabernet Franc
    Syrah
    Cabernet Sauvignon
    Merlot,Sangiovese
    Petit Verdot
    Grenache
  • Culture biodynamic
  • Alcohol degrees14.5°

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

An excellent vintage of Caiarossa, with creamy raspberry fruits and plenty of sappy tannins that give definition, together with higher acidity redcurrant fruit shot through with spiced rosemary, smoked earth and underbrush for Tuscan character, reflecting that 2019 is an excellent vintage, both generous and balanced. Caiarossa 2019 is a wine full and generous to the palate, yet it never feels heavy or too extracted. An intense, full-bodied yet very well-balanced and polished red with velvety, firm and caressing tannins. Ripe black plums, blueberries, chocolate, mocha, sweet spice and dried lavender.. Layered and full of character. The wine is balanced and fresh with thick layers of dark fruit, crushed stone, tobacco and exotic spice.

Temperature

18°

Drinking window

2023-2033

Wine and food pairing

Handmade Pasta with wild boar ragout

Pork loin stuffed with grilled vegetables and roasted potatoes 

Roasted Lamb

Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Caiarossa 2019 The Wine Gate Shop
Italie

Toscane – Toscana

Caiarossa 2019

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

95 100

WA - ROBERT PARKER

96 100

JAMES SUCKING

90 100

WINE SPECTATOR

La propriété

Nommé ainsi en raison de la couleur rouge de sa terre, Caiarossa est guidé par les principes de l'agriculture biodynamique. Datant de 1998, il se caractérise par une diversité unique de sols. En 2004, Eric Albada Jelgersma recherche un domaine dans cette région particulière de l'Italie qu'est la côte toscane, pour exprimer toute son expertise acquise à Bordeaux, au Château Giscours. Il tombe amoureux de cette belle propriété appliquant les principes de l'agriculture biodynamique, située au cœur de la macchia méditerranéenne, sur le versant ouest d'une colline surplombant la mer. Aujourd'hui, ses enfants Dennis, Derk et Valérie suivent les traces de leur père et poursuivent sa quête de précision dans l'élaboration de vins fins.

Le vignoble

Le Caiarossa présente une diversité unique de sols, d'altitudes et de cépages. Le domaine est divisé en trois vignobles. Le plus ancien est le Podere Serra All'Olio. Il a été planté en 1998 à 225 mètres d'altitude sur des sols argilo-calcaires. Près de la vallée venteuse de Cecina, le Podere Le Lame se trouve à 163 mètres d'altitude. Le vignoble le plus élevé est le Nocolino, à 350 mètres d'altitude, avec une exposition directe au vent de la mer, une température plus fraîche et un sol marneux et volcanique rare. Au total, ces 47 parcelles de 10 cépages différents composent ce patchwork unique de terroirs. Caiarossa suit les principes de l'agriculture biodynamique depuis ses débuts. Cette philosophie exige un engagement total pour créer une harmonie entre la nature et l'être humain. L'un des principaux objectifs est d'accroître la vitalité et la résistance du sol grâce aux cultures de couverture, aux préparations biodynamiques et à l'élaboration d'un compost. Caiarossa essaie de protéger notre écosystème et de vivre au rythme de la nature.

Le Millésime

L'expression la plus pure du vignoble, Caiarossa montre toute la complexité et la noblesse du terroir. Les sept cépages qui composent l'assemblage composent une tapisserie parfaite du terroir du domaine. Une véritable expression du luxe de la nature.

Le millésime 2019 restera probablement dans les mémoires comme l'un des plus homogènes et qualitatifs de ces dernières années. Durant les mois d'été, les températures ont été moyennes avec des nuits plus fraîches. Il y a eu 6 pluies significatives (3 en juillet et 3 en août) qui ont permis d'éviter le stress hydrique et ont créé les conditions parfaites pour commencer la saison de maturation. La récolte a commencé un peu plus tard que d'habitude : le premier Merlot le 6 septembre, puis dans l'ordre, Syrah, Sangiovese, Grenache, Cabernet Franc et Cabernet Sauvignon, en terminant par le Petit Verdot. Les conditions météorologiques ont été excellentes ! Les Il a été pris grand soin de sélectionner et récolter chaque raisin de chaque parcelle dans son équilibre le plus harmonieux de fraîcheur et de maturité.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Caiarossa
  • Vignoble Podere Serra all’Olio
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2019
  • Cépage 26% Syrah
    24% Cabernet Franc
    23% Merlot
    14% Cabernet Sauvignon
    7% Petit Verdot
    4% Sangiovese
    2% Grenache
  • Culture Biodynamique
  • Degrés d'alcool14.5°

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Un excellent millésime de Caiarossa, avec des framboises crémeuses et de nombreux tanins séveux qui donnent de la définition, ainsi que des groseilles à l'acidité plus élevée, tirées par le romarin épicé, la terre fumée et les sous-bois pour le caractère toscan, reflétant le fait que 2019 est un excellent millésime, à la fois généreux et équilibré. Le Caiarossa 2019 est un vin ample et généreux en bouche, mais il n'est jamais lourd ou trop extrait. C'est un rouge intense, corsé, mais très équilibré et poli, avec des tanins veloutés, fermes et caressants. Prunes noires mûres, myrtilles, chocolat, moka, épices douces et lavande séchée. Un vin étagé et plein de caractère. Le vin est équilibré et frais avec d'épaisses couches de fruits noirs, de pierre broyée, de tabac et d'épices exotiques.

Service

18°

À déguster

2023-2033

Accords mets et vins

Agneau rôti

Pâtes maison avec ragoût de sanglier

Longe de porc farcie de légumes grillés et de pommes de terre rôties