Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Burgundy – Corton-Charlemagne

Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

96 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

17.5 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

The estate

Founded in 1731 and located in Beaune in the heart of Burgundy’s Climats for nearly three centuries, the family-owned Maison Bouchard Père & Fils cultivates a search for excellence and the transmission of knowledge. Highly sought after, its wines benefit from optimal ageing conditions in the underground cellars of Château de Beaune, the former 15th century royal fortress that the Maison has occupied since 1820. The Maison was acquired by the Henriot family in 1995 and is part of Artémis Domaines since September 2022.

"The inspiration of terroir, the work of time"

Bouchard Père & Fils

The vineyard

The 130 hectares of vines are spread over a hundred climats in the Côte de Beaune and Côte de Nuits, three quarters of which are Premiers and Grands Crus, including: Montrachet, Chevalier-Montrachet, Meursault, Volnay, Pommard, Beaune Clos Saint-Landry, Beaune Clos de la Mousse, Beaune Vigne de l’Enfant Jésus, Corton, Corton-Charlemagne, Bonnes-Mares, Clos de Vougeot, Chambertin, etc.

Obtaining level HEV3 certification in 2015, the Maison has been committed to a more responsible approach to winegrowing since 2009, with all the vineyards moving towards organic certification by 2026.

See the Corton-Charlemagne vineyard in 360

The Vintage

2018 : Rain, then fine weather and impeccable quality

In 1909, Bouchard Père & Fils acquired 60% of the prestigious vineyard at Le Corton (i.e. 6.93 hectares) which, has the rare particularity of being planted with either pinot noir or chardonnay. Today, Bouchard Père & Fils is the third most important owner in Corton-Charlemagne, with 3.65 hectares.


After a very mild start to the year, temperatures became decidedly chillier, but it remained grey and overcast with lots of rain. Come April, and some warmth returned. Thermometer readings rose steadily over the coming months, at times becoming unseasonably hot, and sunshine became ever more plentiful as harvest time approached. There were a few stormy spells though, and these finished off the ripening that the hot, dry conditions had stalled. Vegetative growth therefore continued its course. The bumper harvest took place amidst cloudy, cool conditions. This vintage has yielded beautifully ripe grapes of premium quality.

 

As such, the red wines exhibit strikingly dark robes, very mature bouquets and are dense and supple on the palate. Elegance, complexity and expressiveness, as ever, grace the chardonnays.

Information

  • Domain Bouchard Père et Fils
  • Vineyard Côte de Beaune
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 2018
  • Classification Grand Cru
  • Variety 100% Chardonnay
  • Culture Sustainable agriculture
  • Alcohol degrees13.5°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Very nice golden colour. The intense nose gives off smells of toast and white flesh fruits aromas. Fresh and very balanced on the mouth, with salty tastes worthy of the appellation. A great wine.

Temperature

12°

Drinking window

2025 - 2028

Wine and food pairing

Fish and shellfish in sauce, foie gras.

Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Bourgogne – Corton-Charlemagne

Bouchard Père et Fils Corton-Charlemagne 2018

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

96 100

WINE SPECTATOR

94 100

JAMES SUCKLING

17.5 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

La propriété

Fondée en 1731 et installée à Beaune au cœur des Climats de Bourgogne depuis bientôt trois siècles, la Maison familiale Bouchard Père & Fils cultive la recherche de l’excellence et la transmission des savoirs. Pour le plus grand bonheur des amateurs, ses vins bénéficient de conditions de vieillissement optimales dans les galeries souterraines du Château de Beaune, cette ancienne forteresse royale du XVe siècle que la Maison occupe depuis 1820. La Maison a été acquise en 1995 par la famille Henriot et appartient à Artémis Domaines depuis septembre 2022.

"L'inspiration du terroir, l'œuvre du temps"

Bouchard Père & Fils

Le vignoble

Des 130 hectares de son domaine réparti sur une centaine de climats en Côte de Beaune et Côte de Nuits, les trois quarts sont en Premiers et Grands Crus, parmi lesquels : Montrachet, Chevalier-Montrachet, Meursault, Volnay, Pommard, Beaune Clos Saint-Landry, Beaune Clos de la Mousse, Beaune Vigne de l’Enfant Jésus, Corton, Corton-Charlemagne, Bonnes-Mares, Clos de Vougeot, Chambertin, etc.

Certifiée HVE niveau 3 depuis 2015, la Maison est engagée dans une viticulture plus responsable depuis 2009, qui doit aboutir d'ici 2026 avec l’intégralité du Domaine certifiée agriculture biologique.

Voir le vignoble du Corton-Charlemagne en 360

Le Millésime

En 1909, la Maison Bouchard Père & Fils acquiert 60% du climat " Le Corton " (soit 6,93 ha), qui a une particularité rare : il peut être planté en pinot noir comme en chardonnay. Aujourd'hui, la Maison Bouchard Père & Fils est le 3ème plus important propriétaire en Corton-Charlemagne (3,65 ha).

2018 : Après la pluie le beau temps et la qualité parfaite


Le premier trimestre, très doux puis nettement plus frais, a été maussade, très pluvieux et couvert. Dès les premiers jours d’avril la douceur est revenue. Elle a peu à peu évolué vers des températures chaudes voire caniculaires et l’ensoleillement s’est montré de plus en plus généreux jusqu’à la fin du millésime. Quelques épisodes orageux sont cependant apparus : ils ont parachevé la véraison que chaleur et sècheresse avaient ralentie. La croissance végétative a donc maintenu son avance. Fraîcheur et nuages ont présidé à la récolte dont les rendements étaient conséquents et les raisins de grande qualité. Ce millésime a donné naissance à des raisins de grande maturité.

En conséquence les vins rouges dévoilent des robes intenses, sombres, des bouquets très mûrs et des palais denses et souples. Les chardonnays sont tout aussi élégants, complexes et expressifs.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Bouchard Père et Fils
  • Vignoble Côte de Beaune
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 2018
  • Classification Grand Cru
  • Cépage 100% Chardonnay
  • Culture Agriculture raisonnée
  • Degrés d'alcool13.5°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Très belle robe dorée. Nez intense qui exhale des notes toastées et des arômes de fruits à chair blanche. Bouche fraiche et très équilibrée, avec des notes salines. Un très grand vin, digne de son appellation.

Service

12°

À déguster

2025 - 2028

Accords mets et vins

Poissons et crustacés en sauce, foie gras.