Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017 The Wine Gate Shop

California – Napa Valley

Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017

Shipped in original wooden case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

97 100

JAMES SUCKLING

15 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

96 100

DECANTER

The estate

Founded in 1900, Beaulieu Vineyard is one of the most historic wineries in Napa Valley. Beaulieu Vineyard was founded on the principles of a truly innovative spirit that is strongly focused on the future. Current winemaker Trevor Durling is only the 5th winemaker in our 117 year history. Beaulieu Vineyard farms over 1,100 acres in the heart of Napa Valley - some of the most coveted vineyard property in the world. Beaulieu Vineyard is a globally recognized, iconic brand that epitomizes the quality and tradition of Napa Valley wines.

Le vignoble

One of the oldest continually operating wineries in Napa Valley, Beaulieu Vineyard has been setting the standard for rich, classic Napa Valley wines for over a century Founded in 1900 by Georges de Latour, French visionary who wanted to make world class wines to rival France Georges saw similarities between Bordeaux and Rutherford Beaulieu Vineyard is a rare Napa Valley “Grand Cru” winery with an unrivaled century long legacy and status Legendary winemaker and Napa Valley’s ‘godfather of winemaking’ Andre Tchelistcheff led the winemaking team at Beaulieu for more than 40 vintages The winemaking intention at Beaulieu Vineyard has always been focused on crafting world class wines of distinction Today, Beaulieu Vineyard farms over 1,100 acres of Napa Valley estate vineyards, some of the most coveted land in the valley Current winemaker Trevor Durling, only the 5th in BV’s history, carries on the tradition today of continually innovating for quality, with Beaulieu standing proud as a Napa icon Beaulieu Vineyard is one of the oldest, yet most modern wineries in the world, dating back to 1885.

“I am honored to be in this role at Beaulieu at such an exciting and pivotal time – entering a new chapter of growth and relevance in today’s market and culture – while preserving BV’s rich heritage and legacy.”

Trevor Durling

The vintage

The Georges de Latour Cabernet Sauvignon has been widely recognized as the benchmark Cabernet Sauvignon from Rutherford (California) since its inaugural vintage in 1936. This wine honors the marriage between cutting-edge technology and gentle, traditional winemaking methods, a combination that enhances the expression of this remarkable vineyards.

The 2017 vintage in the Napa Valley was smaller yielding but high in quality. The region enjoyed much needed rain during the winter months ending the drought. A short period of warmer than usual temperatures during Labor Day weekend accelerated harvest for early ripening grapes varieties, resulting in an intense and, at times, unpredictable harvest. Though yields were lower than usual, the wines show exceptional flavor intensity and growing conditions were perfect for producing a wine with beautiful fruit and tremendous concentration of flavors, highly saturated color, and plenty of complexity.

Information

  • Domain Beaulieu Vineyard
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2017
  • Variety 97% Cabernet Sauvignon
    3% Petit Verdot
  • Alcohol degrees14.7°
Download the datasheet

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

The 2017 Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon is ripe, fruit-forward and voluptuous, with brawny dark fruit aromas of blackberry, dark plum and black currant. Hints of delicate violet and black pepper spice also support the lush fruit, showcasing the depth, concentration, and balance of this extraordinary Cabernet. Full-bodied with breadth and weight, the rich palate is supported by robust flavors of blackberry, cassis, dark plum, mocha and molasses. Notes of vanilla, caramel and baking spice are well-integrated, a tribute to aging in new French oak barrels. The fruit is supported by signature “Rutherford Dust” tannins, adding a round, cocoa-powder texture, supple length and firm presence to the lingering finish. The ever-expansive palate, while seamlessly integrating with the full-bodied texture, crafts a wine that shows nuance, intrigue and approachability now, but with layers of complexity and structure that will allow the wine to age for years to come.

Drinking window

2020-2040

Wine and food pairing

Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017 The Wine Gate Shop
Etats-Unis

Californie – Napa Valley

Beaulieu Vineyard Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017

Conditionné en caisse bois d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

97 100

JAMES SUCKLING

15 20

JANCIS ROBINSON

96 100

DECANTER

La propriété

Fondé en 1900, Beaulieu Vineyard est l'un des domaines viticoles les plus historiques de la Napa Valley. Beaulieu Vineyard a été fondé sur les principes d'un esprit véritablement novateur et fortement tourné vers l'avenir. Le vigneron actuel, Trevor Durling, n'est que le cinquième vigneron de notre histoire de 117 ans. Beaulieu Vineyard exploite plus de 1 100 acres au cœur de la Napa Valley - des vignobles parmi les plus convoités au monde. Beaulieu Vineyard est une marque emblématique mondialement reconnue qui incarne la qualité et la tradition des vins de la Napa Valley.

Le vignoble

Beaulieu Vineyard, l'un des plus anciens domaines viticoles de la Napa Valley, établit depuis plus d'un siècle la norme en matière de vins riches et classiques de la Napa Valley. Fondé en 1900 par Georges de Latour, un visionnaire français qui voulait produire des vins de classe mondiale pour rivaliser avec la France. Georges a vu des similitudes entre Bordeaux et Rutherford. Beaulieu Vineyard est un rare vignoble "Grand Cru" de la vallée de Napa, dont l'héritage et le statut sont inégalés depuis plus d'un siècle. Le légendaire vigneron et "parrain de la vinification" de la Napa Valley, Andre Tchelistcheff, a dirigé l'équipe de vinification de Beaulieu pendant plus de 40 millésimes. L'intention des viticulteurs de Beaulieu Vineyard a toujours été de produire des vins de classe mondiale et de grande qualité. Aujourd'hui, Beaulieu Vineyard exploite plus de 1 100 acres de vignobles de la Napa Valley, parmi les terres les plus convoitées de la vallée. Le vigneron actuel, Trevor Durling, qui n'est que le cinquième dans l'histoire de BV, perpétue aujourd'hui la tradition d'innovation permanente au service de la qualité, Beaulieu s'imposant fièrement comme une icône de la Napa. Beaulieu Vineyard est l'un des domaines viticoles les plus anciens et les plus modernes du monde, puisqu'il date de 1885.

"Je suis honoré de jouer ce rôle au sein de Beaulieu à un moment aussi passionnant et décisif. J'ai l'honneur d'occuper ce poste à Beaulieu à un moment aussi passionnant et charnière, en entamant un nouveau chapitre de croissance et de pertinence sur le marché et dans la culture d'aujourd'hui, tout en préservant le riche patrimoine et l'héritage de Beaulieu Vineyard."

Trevor Durling

Le Millésime

Le Georges de Latour Cabernet Sauvignon du domaine Beaulieu Vineyard est largement reconnu comme le Cabernet Sauvignon de référence de Rutherford (Californie) depuis son millésime inaugural en 1936. Ce vin est le fruit de plus de 100 ans de création de vins riches et classiques de la Napa Valley par le domaine et l'expression du mariage entre les technologies de pointe et les méthodes de vinification douces et traditionnelles, une combinaison qui met en valeur l'expression de ce remarquable vignoble.

Le millésime 2017 dans la vallée de Napa a été moins productif mais de grande qualité. La région a bénéficié de pluies bien nécessaires pendant les mois d'hiver, mettant fin à la sécheresse. Une courte période de températures plus chaudes que d'habitude pendant le week-end du 1er mai a accéléré la récolte des cépages à maturation précoce, ce qui a donné lieu à une récolte intense et, parfois, imprévisible. Bien que les rendements aient été plus faibles que d'habitude, les vins présentent une intensité aromatique exceptionnelle et les conditions de croissance étaient parfaites pour produire un vin avec un fruit magnifique et une énorme concentration d'arômes, une couleur très saturée et beaucoup de complexité.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Beaulieu Vineyard
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2017
  • Cépage 97% Cabernet-Sauvignon
    3% Petit Verdot
  • Degrés d'alcool14.7°
Télécharger la fiche complète

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Le Georges de Latour Private Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2017 est mûr, fruité et voluptueux, avec de puissants arômes de fruits noirs tels que la mûre, la prune noire et le cassis. Des notes délicates de violette et d'épices de poivre noir soutiennent également le fruit luxuriant, mettant en valeur la profondeur, la concentration et l'équilibre de cet extraordinaire cabernet. La bouche riche et corsée est soutenue par des saveurs robustes de mûre, de cassis, de prune noire, de moka et de mélasse. Les notes de vanille, de caramel et d'épices de boulangerie sont bien intégrées, en hommage à l'élevage en fûts neufs de chêne français. Le fruit est soutenu par les tannins caractéristiques de la " poussière de Rutherford ", qui ajoutent une texture ronde de poudre de cacao, une longueur souple et une présence ferme à la finale persistante. Le palais, qui ne cesse de s'étendre, s'intègre parfaitement à la texture corsée et donne un vin nuancé, intrigant et accessible dès à présent, mais avec des couches de complexité et de structure qui lui permettront de vieillir pendant de nombreuses années.

À déguster

2020-2040

Accords mets et vins