Alphonse Mellot La Demoiselle 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Loire – Sancerre

Alphonse Mellot La Demoiselle 2018

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

93 100

ROBERT PARKER

The estate

In 1513, the records of Sancerre mention the Mellot family. The Mellot family, vinegrowers ad wine merchants, was again mentioned during the siege of the town. They pursued their patient labours and continued to gain recognition because César Mellot was appointed as Wine Advisor to Louis XIV in 1698. At the beginning of the XIX century, Alphonse Mellot founded a tavern in Sancerre where one could savour the local wines and so began the flourishing trade that was to continue.

In 1881, he was granted a licence to ship his wine throughout France and all over the world. This marked the beginning of a pacific conquest which has been pursued and developed by the family business from father to son ever since, with the eldest son continuing to bear the name of the founder Alphonse.

The vineyard

The wines are produced from the upper Sancerre vineyard, the most famous of which is the « Domaine La Moussière  », one single vineyard of over thirty hectares. Its ideally exposed location of the south western tip of Sancerre, its chalk soil and its specific sub-soil are all perfect conditions of the cultivation of the vine according the biodynamic principles (Certificated by Ecocert and Biodyvin).

White wine is produced from the noble grape called « Sauvignon Blanc» with small, very tightly packed grapes, that is amongst the oldest known varieties. Sancerre has an eminent position in the hierarchy of white wines thanks to its great finesse, its bouquet and fruitiness. Red and rosé Sancerre are produced from the « Pinot noir » grapes, particularly from the older vines.

The Vintage

The cherry becomes kirschy with the stony mineral and peppery notes reminiscent of roasted ribs. A real surprise on this great grape variety that is the pinot noir.

Information

  • Domain Alphonse Mellot
  • Vineyard Centre
  • Color
    White
  • Vintage 2018
  • Variety 100% Pinot Noir
  • Culture Biodynamic
  • Alcohol degrees14.5°

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Dense ruby color, the nose is marked by the terroir. The flinty clay expresses itself here on notes of smoke and kirsch cherries, all melted in silky tannins to the extreme.

Temperature

14°

Wine and food pairing

Poached eggs with cep mushroom sauce, wild duck with spices, cinnamon pears.

Alphonse Mellot La Demoiselle 2018 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Loire – Sancerre

Alphonse Mellot La Demoiselle 2020

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

93 100

ROBERT PARKER

La propriété

En 1513, les archives de Sancerre mentionnent la famille Mellot. Vignerons et marchands de vins, les Mellot sont encore cités à l'occasion du siège de la ville. Ils poursuivent leur patient labeur avec une compétence reconnue, puisque le roi Louis XIV, en 1698, choisit César Mellot pour conseiller viticole. Au début du XIXème siècle, Alphonse Mellot crée à Sancerre une auberge où il fait apprécier les vins du pays et donne ainsi à son commerce un essor qui ne cessera plus de s'affirmer.

En 1881, une licence est accordée à Alphonse Mellot qui lui permet d'expédier son vin en France et dans le monde entier. C'est le début d'une conquête pacifique, et, depuis lors, la maison familiale poursuit son expansion. De père en fils, l'aîné de chaque génération porte le prénom du fondateur.

Le vignoble

Les vins sont produits sur les hauts vignobles de Sancerre dont le fameux « Domaine de la Moussière » qui  possède une superficie de plus de trente hectares d’un seul tenant. Son exposition privilégiée à la pointe sud-ouest de Sancerre, son sol calcaire et son sous-sol réunissent tous les éléments nécessaires à la culture de la vigne selon les principes de la Biodynamie (certifié par Ecocert et Biodyvin).

Le Sancerre blanc est le produit d'un cépage noble « Sauvignon Blanc », petit raisin à grains serrés, dont l'origine est très ancienne. Par sa finesse, son bouquet, son fruit, le Sancerre occupe une place éminente dans la hiérarchie des vins blancs. Le Sancerre rouge et le Sancerre rosé sont produits par le cépage « Pinot Noir », notamment avec les vieilles vignes du Domaine.

Le Millésime

Une vraie surprise sur ce grand cépage qu'est le pinot noir.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Alphonse Mellot
  • Vignoble Centre
  • Couleur
    Blanc
  • Millésime 2020
  • Cépage 100% Pinot Noir
  • Culture Biodynamique
  • Degrés d'alcool14.5°

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Robe rubis dense, le nez est marqué par le terroir. L'argile à silex s'exprime ici sur des notes de fumé et de cerises kirschées, le tout fondu dans des tanins soyeux à l'extrême.

Service

14°

Accords mets et vins

Oeufs pochés sauce vigneronne aux cèpes, canard sauvage aux épices, poires à la cannelle