Alphonse Mellot En Grands champs 2011 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Loire – Sancerre

Alphonse Mellot En Grands champs 2011

Shipped in original cardboard case

In stock

Estimated UPS delivery within 8 days

Full description

Ratings

90 100

ROBERT PARKER

The estate

In 1513, the records of Sancerre mention the Mellot family. The Mellot family, vinegrowers ad wine merchants, was again mentioned during the siege of the town. They pursued their patient labours and continued to gain recognition because César Mellot was appointed as Wine Advisor to Louis XIV in 1698. At the beginning of the XIX century, Alphonse Mellot founded a tavern in Sancerre where one could savour the local wines and so began the flourishing trade that was to continue.

In 1881, he was granted a licence to ship his wine throughout France and all over the world. This marked the beginning of a pacific conquest which has been pursued and developed by the family business from father to son ever since, with the eldest son continuing to bear the name of the founder Alphonse.

The vineyard

The wines are produced from the upper Sancerre vineyard, the most famous of which is the « Domaine La Moussière  », one single vineyard of over thirty hectares. Its ideally exposed location of the south western tip of Sancerre, its chalk soil and its specific sub-soil are all perfect conditions of the cultivation of the vine according the biodynamic principles (Certificated by Ecocert and Biodyvin).

White wine is produced from the noble grape called « Sauvignon Blanc» with small, very tightly packed grapes, that is amongst the oldest known varieties. Sancerre has an eminent position in the hierarchy of white wines thanks to its great finesse, its bouquet and fruitiness. Red and rosé Sancerre are produced from the « Pinot noir » grapes, particularly from the older vines.

The wine

This 100% Pinot Noir red wine has a powerful nose with notes of blackberry, morello cherry and pink pepper blending into a jubilantly smoky bouquet, a superbly rich carmine robe and an elegantly fresh and fruity palate set off by fine silky tannins.

Information

  • Domain Alphonse Mellot
  • Vineyard Centre
  • Color
    Red
  • Vintage 2011
  • Variety 100% Pinot Noir
  • Culture Biodynamic
  • Alcohol degrees13°

Tasting Notes

Eye, bouquet, palate

Nose : notes of blackberry, morello cherry and pink pepper blending into a jubilantly smoky bouquet

Robe: a superbly rich carmine robe

Palate: an elegantly fresh and fruity palate set off by fine silky tannins.

Temperature

14°

Drinking window

2020-2025

Wine and food pairing

En Grands Champs is a perfect match for a fine piece of Charolais beef, a chicken liver terrine or a peach soup dessert.

Alphonse Mellot En Grands champs 2011 The Wine Gate Shop
France

Loire – Sancerre

Alphonse Mellot En Grands champs 2011

Conditionné en caisse carton d'origine

En stock

Livraison UPS estimée sous 8 jours

Description complète

Notes

90 100

ROBERT PARKER

La propriété

En 1513, les archives de Sancerre mentionnent la famille Mellot. Vignerons et marchands de vins, les Mellot sont encore cités à l'occasion du siège de la ville. Ils poursuivent leur patient labeur avec une compétence reconnue, puisque le roi Louis XIV, en 1698, choisit César Mellot pour conseiller viticole. Au début du XIXème siècle, Alphonse Mellot crée à Sancerre une auberge où il fait apprécier les vins du pays et donne ainsi à son commerce un essor qui ne cessera plus de s'affirmer.

En 1881, une licence est accordée à Alphonse Mellot qui lui permet d'expédier son vin en France et dans le monde entier. C'est le début d'une conquête pacifique, et, depuis lors, la maison familiale poursuit son expansion. De père en fils, l'aîné de chaque génération porte le prénom du fondateur.

Le vignoble

Les vins sont produits sur les hauts vignobles de Sancerre dont le fameux « Domaine de la Moussière » qui  possède une superficie de plus de trente hectares d’un seul tenant. Son exposition privilégiée à la pointe sud-ouest de Sancerre, son sol calcaire et son sous-sol réunissent tous les éléments nécessaires à la culture de la vigne selon les principes de la Biodynamie (certifié par Ecocert et Biodyvin).

Le Sancerre blanc est le produit d'un cépage noble « Sauvignon Blanc », petit raisin à grains serrés, dont l'origine est très ancienne. Par sa finesse, son bouquet, son fruit, le Sancerre occupe une place éminente dans la hiérarchie des vins blancs. Le Sancerre rouge et le Sancerre rosé sont produits par le cépage « Pinot Noir », notamment avec les vieilles vignes du Domaine.

Le vin

Ce rouge 100% Pinot Noir a un nez puissant sur des notes de mûre, de griotte et de poivre rose se fondant dans un joyeux bouquet fumé , une superbe robe carmin profond et une bouche élégante avec du fruité et de la fraîcheur accompagnés de tanins fins et soyeux.

Fiche technique

  • Domaine Alphonse Mellot
  • Vignoble Centre
  • Couleur
    Rouge
  • Millésime 2011
  • Cépage 100% Pinot Noir
  • Culture Biodynamique
  • Degrés d'alcool13°

Dégustation

Robe, nez, bouche

Nez : notes de mûre, de griotte et de poivre rose

Robe : carmin profond

Bouche : élégante avec du fruité et de la fraîcheur accompagnés de tanins fins et soyeux

Service

14°

À déguster

2020-2025

Accords mets et vins

En Grands Champs s’accordera parfaitement avec une belle pièce de bœuf charolais, une terrine de foies de volailles ou une soupe de pêche en dessert.